What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
Reconciling a Shopify store's books runs into a wall that the platform's marketing never mentions: the order export doesn't contain the number you actually need.
Shopify's help center publishes the full header definition for the order export CSV — Name, Financial Status, Paid at, Subtotal, Shipping, Taxes, Total, Discount Amount, Payment Method, Payment References, Refunded Amount, and roughly fifty more. Read the list carefully and one thing is conspicuously absent. There is no payment processing fee column.
You get gross revenue. You get tax. You get refunds. You don't get what the payment provider took. Which means the difference between "what the customer paid" and "what landed in your bank account" has to be sourced somewhere else entirely.
For merchants using QuickBooks Online or Xero, an entire app ecosystem exists to close that gap. For merchants using Japanese accounting software, the ecosystem is close to empty — and one of the largest vendors formally withdrew three years ago. Here's the actual state of Shopify accounting integration as of September 1, 2026, checked against primary sources.
The short version
Under 50 orders a month, and not on freee? You don't need a paid app. The free tier of "CSVダウンロード" (CSV Download) by GroovyMedia Inc. exports up to 50 orders at a time, unlimited times.
On freee? There is effectively one option. Searching the Shopify App Store for "freee" returns a single app: かんたんfreee会計データ連携 (Easy freee Accounting Data Sync). It's rated 2.8 across 11 reviews, six of which are one-star. Plan on validating it during the trial.
On Money Forward, Yayoi, Bugyo, or Jobcan? No API integration exists. Your path is CSV export in each vendor's import format, then manual import on the accounting side.
On QuickBooks Online or Xero? You have hundreds of options — but the QuickBooks Online listing states plainly that the app is English-only and "has not been translated into Japanese."
And the claim, repeated across Japanese-language blog posts, that Shopify integrates with Money Forward? It stopped being true on June 30, 2023.
What Shopify gives you natively
The fee problem
Shopify's Exporting orders help page documents two CSV structures. The order export has around sixty columns. The transaction history export has exactly ten: Order, Name, Payment Method, Kind, Gateway, Created At, Status, Amount, Currency, Card Type.
Neither includes fees. The transaction export gives you the transaction amount — not what was deducted from it.
What Shopify does provide is a column called Payment References, and the help center is explicit about its purpose: it contains the payment IDs Shopify sent to the payment service, and you use those IDs to reconcile order information between Shopify and the payment service. That's the designed workflow. Fees live on the processor's side of the fence, and Shopify hands you a join key rather than the data.
For a store doing 40 orders a month, that reconciliation is a spreadsheet exercise. At 400, it isn't.
Export behavior changes at 50 orders
A smaller detail with outsized operational impact: the help center states that exporting up to 50 orders, or the current page, downloads the CSV directly to your device. Exporting 51 or more orders, or exporting by date range, emails the file to you and the store owner instead.
Anyone closing books monthly is therefore in the email path permanently. Shopify also notes that exports under 100,000 items complete within an hour, while a 400,000-item export can take around four hours.
One more constraint worth knowing before it bites: the transaction history included in the CSV contains only captured payments. Authorization data is explicitly excluded. If your payment methods separate authorization from capture, that gap lands squarely on your period-end cutoff.
Shopify Tax doesn't cover Japan
The tax picture has its own boundary, and it's stated in the first line of the documentation.
Shopify's Shopify Tax help page opens with a note: this guide is for merchants using Shopify Tax's calculation features to sell in the United States, the European Union, or the United Kingdom. The body describes Shopify Tax as serving merchants selling to customers in the US, EU, UK, and Canada.
The companion Manual Tax page defines itself the same way: manual tax rate configuration is "one of the options for tax calculation in the United States, Canada, the European Union (EU), and the United Kingdom."
Japan appears in neither list. Japanese consumption tax rides on the generic rate-setting mechanism, but the country-specific machinery — reduced 8% vs. standard 10% rate handling, qualified invoice requirements — is not something Shopify's tax service is designed to manage. Getting tax categories right on the way into your ledger is a job for the integration layer, and that's precisely where the app shelf matters.
What the App Store actually returns
Searching the Shopify App Store on September 1, 2026:
| Search term | Results | What they are |
|---|---|---|
| 会計 (accounting) | 538 apps | Overwhelmingly QuickBooks / Xero connectors |
| freee | 1 app | かんたんfreee会計データ連携 |
| 弥生 (Yayoi) | 4 apps | None are Yayoi API connectors |
| マネーフォワード (Money Forward) | 0 apps | No results |
That gap — 538 down to zero — is the whole story in one table.
The four results for "Yayoi" don't include a Yayoi integration. They're the CSV Download app (which exports a Yayoi-compatible format), an invoicing app, a general-purpose ERP connector, and one unrelated app that matched on noise.
Money Forward returns nothing at all. There's a documented reason.
Money Forward pulled the plug on June 30, 2023
Money Forward Cloud Accounting published a notice on June 14, 2023, titled "Regarding the termination of data integration with Shopify." The termination date was June 30, 2023.
The stated reasoning is the interesting part. Problems had arisen with automatic transaction retrieval, and by that point new connections and reconnections were already impossible. Money Forward had tried to restore the integration, but — in their words — the Shopify API used for the connection was becoming unavailable, making stable service impossible going forward.
So this wasn't Shopify declining to build a connector. A major accounting vendor walked away from an integration it already had.
The notice directs affected users to one of two paths: manual journal entry via the transfer slip screen, or importing entries through the journal book screen. It also carries a warning worth reading before you tidy up old settings — historical transaction data remains viewable after termination, but deleting the data connection permanently deletes all previously retrieved transactions with no recovery.
The apps that do exist
かんたんfreee会計データ連携 (GroovyMedia Inc.)
Published January 19, 2021 by a Tokyo-based developer, Japanese-language UI, and the only result for a "freee" search.
It syncs Shopify orders into freee accounting with account titles, business partners, memo tags, departments, and items specified. Notably, it addresses the fee problem head-on: payment fees, shipping, discounts, and consumption tax can each be booked to a separate account title. The listing also claims reduced-tax-rate and POS support.
Pricing as of September 1, 2026:
| Plan | Monthly | Included entries | Overage | Key differences |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Light | $14 | 50 | $0.30/entry | Syncs 1 month of history. 7-day trial |
| Basic | $29 | 200 | $0.15/entry | 3 months of history; partner, memo tag, item, department, tax, and timing settings |
| Advanced | $49 | 600 | $0.05/entry | 6 months of history; inventory journal support |
| Enterprise | $99 | Not stated | Not stated | Per-location departments, custom work, API |
There is no free plan. The listing states that overage applies regardless of whether you're in the trial period — exceed 50 entries in a month on Light and you pay $0.30 each. At 100 orders a month that's $14 + $15 = $29, identical to Basic. Anyone whose volume is predictable should compute the crossover before subscribing.
The other easily-missed axis is history depth: Light reaches back one month, Basic three, Advanced six. Discovering at fiscal year-end that your plan can't reach the months you need to book is an avoidable kind of pain.
Reviews: 11 total, 2.8 average — three 5-star, one 4-star, one 3-star, and six 1-star. Eleven reviews is too few to generalize from, but the recent ones are informative. An August 2, 2026 review says the app cost roughly $30/month and felt expensive for what it did; the merchant built their own replacement instead. A February 8, 2026 review reports the app wouldn't connect and showed only a grey screen, prompting a developer reply on March 5 asking about the merchant's network conditions. A January 23, 2026 review, from a merchant of several years, is positive and specifically praises support during problems.
The pattern reads less like "mediocre app" and more like "works in some environments, doesn't in others." Which makes the 7-day trial the single most important step in adopting it.
CSVダウンロード | 会計や配送に役立つフォーマットを用意 (GroovyMedia Inc.)
Same developer, published October 27, 2020, rated 5.0 across 6 reviews.
This one doesn't integrate with anything. It exports CSVs in formats that Japanese accounting software can import — Money Forward, Yayoi Accounting, Bugyo, and Jobcan Accounting are named on the listing — plus shipping formats for Yamato, Sagawa, and Japan Post.
Two tiers. The free plan installs for nothing and exports up to 50 orders at a time, unlimited times, with date-range and unfulfilled-only filtering, plus product data export. The Professional plan is $20/month, raises the per-export cap to 5,000 orders, and unlocks both the carrier and accounting formats. A 14-day trial is available.
That free-tier cap of 50 is not a coincidence — it matches exactly the threshold at which Shopify's native export switches to email delivery. The app's free tier is positioned precisely where the native workflow starts to hurt.
All six reviews are 5-star, with a consistent theme. An October 31, 2024 review describes reaching the app after neither Shopify's native export nor other apps produced usable data, and getting a custom-tailored file after an online consultation. A September 6, 2023 review describes requesting additional export fields and having them added. Six reviews cannot establish a general pattern, but multiple documented cases of successful custom adjustment is a real signal for merchants with unusual requirements.
The QuickBooks and Xero tier
This is what makes the number 538. QuickBooks Online's official app: 4.7 stars, 3,217 reviews, free to install. Xero: 4.2 across 36. A2X Sync for QuickBooks & Xero: 5.0 across 342. Xero Bridge by Parex: 4.9 across 289. Plus Webgility, Bookkeep, MyWorks, and dozens more.
For a Japanese store, the relevant line is on the QuickBooks Online listing itself: language, English; and the explicit note that the app has not been translated into Japanese.
"Shopify has a rich accounting app ecosystem" and "there are accounting apps a Japanese store can use" are two different statements, and only one of them is true.
Choosing by situation
Under 50 orders a month
Use the free tier of CSV Download before considering anything paid. Fifty orders per export, unlimited exports, no waiting for email. It's arguably a better monthly workflow than the native export.
On freee, with hundreds of orders a month
かんたんfreee会計データ連携 is your only automated path. Use every day of the 7-day trial to confirm that entries actually post from your store — a reported failure mode is that it simply doesn't connect. Separately, compute your all-in cost including overage and compare it against the next plan up.
On Money Forward, Yayoi, Bugyo, or Jobcan
No automated integration exists. CSV Download's Professional plan ($20/month) exports in each vendor's format for manual import. Money Forward's own guidance is journal-book import.
Waiting for an official connector to return is a defensible hope but a poor operating assumption — the stated cause of termination was API availability, not a temporary defect.
If you need fees booked automatically
Native Shopify can't do it, because the column doesn't exist. Either use an app that assigns separate account titles to fees, or pull payout data from the payment provider and reconcile on Payment References. The second approach is architecturally correct and manually unsustainable past a certain volume.
Before you install
- Have you multiplied your monthly order count by the app's entry cap and overage rate to get a real number?
- Does your plan's history depth cover the months you'll need to book at year-end?
- Do you sell items at both 8% and 10% consumption tax? If so, have you confirmed how tax categories are passed through?
- Have you decided where payment fee data comes from and which account it posts to?
- Have you run real order data — not test data — through to a posted entry during the trial?
- Does your accounting software's import format match what the app actually outputs?
- If you still have a legacy Money Forward Shopify connection configured, do you know that deleting it destroys the historical transactions?
The bottom line
Four findings, all verified against primary sources on September 1, 2026.
Shopify's order export CSV has no payment fee column — not in the ~60-column order export, not in the 10-column transaction export. Fees are meant to be reconciled against the payment provider using Payment References.
Money Forward terminated its Shopify data integration on June 30, 2023, citing loss of access to the Shopify API. Searching the App Store for Money Forward returns zero apps.
Exactly one freee integration app exists on the Shopify App Store. It's rated 2.8 across 11 reviews, six of them one-star, has no free plan, starts at $14/month, and charges $0.30 per entry beyond 50.
Shopify Tax's documented scope is the US, EU, UK, and Canada. Japan is in none of the tax service documentation, so Japanese tax category accuracy is the integration's problem, not the platform's.
Start by counting your monthly orders and checking whether you clear 50. If you do, the path forks on whether you use freee. Either way, post real entries during the trial. Skipping that step means discovering the app doesn't work after you've paid for it.
Pricing and specifications change. This article reflects the Shopify App Store, Shopify Help Center, and Money Forward Cloud Accounting support site as of September 1, 2026. Verify current details before adopting.
Shopify syncs nothing between two stores you own. Locations live inside one store, Markets serve many countries from one store, and Shopify Collective is a dropship relationship with a 100-variant cap that zeroes your inventory when you uninstall it. So multi-store sync is an app decision — and the six real apps meter six different things. Syncio charges the destination for products and the source for orders. Tipo charges for every variant in the destination store, including the ones you never sync. Synkro's $25 plan is $25 per connected store. Trunk bills a rolling three-month order average across all your channels. Priced against one identical two-store setup, the spread runs from about $10 to about $119 a month. Verified on the Shopify App Store September 2, 2026.