Skip to main content
Store operations and content

Shopify Warns That Currency Converter Apps Break at Checkout — Here's What Actually Controls Local Currency

Selling in local currencies on Shopify requires Shopify Payments or Adyen. Without one, an app can change what the price says but checkout still charges in your store's default currency — and Shopify says so in its own Help Center. The conversion fee splits 1.5% / 2% by store location. Manual rates cannot be applied to your primary market and are ignored on refunds, where the original conversion fee is never returned. And markets on a shared domain are not indexed by search engines at all. Researched September 1, 2026.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Updated Read 10 min#Shopify blog operations#App comparisons#For beginners

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

Search for how to show local currency on Shopify and you'll get page after page of currency converter app roundups.

Meanwhile, Shopify's own Help Center says this: some currency conversion apps in the App Store are not compatible with selling in local currencies with Shopify Payments. They can display prices in the customer's chosen currency, but at checkout the currency reverts to the store's default.

Which means the popular mental model — install a converter, sell in local currency — has a missing precondition. What determines whether a customer can pay in their currency isn't the app. It's your payment processor.

Below: the actual preconditions, the cost structure most English-language guides get wrong for non-US stores, and what a currency app is genuinely buying you. Research date: September 1, 2026.

The short version

On Shopify Payments or Adyen? Markets currency customizations handle display and checkout natively. A converter app is optional.

On any other processor? No app can fix this. Display switches; checkout doesn't.

Your conversion fee is 1.5% or 2% depending on where your store is located — and most guides assume 1.5%.

Planning to use manual exchange rates? They can't be applied to your primary market, and they're ignored entirely on refunds.

What the apps actually sell you is the selector UI and geolocation accuracy — not the conversion. Price them accordingly.

Shopify has three currencies, not one

The documentation distinguishes:

Store currency — your admin's currency. What you price products in, and the only currency your reports display.

Local currency (also called customer or presentment currency) — what the customer sees and pays in.

Payout currency — what Shopify deposits into your bank account.

Conversion, and its fee, happens wherever these diverge. Note the reporting constraint: you cannot break down revenue by presentment currency in native reports. Plan your analytics around that.

What actually gates local-currency checkout

The Help Center is unambiguous:

Selling in local currencies is only supported by Adyen or Shopify Payments... Orders that are placed using other third-party payment providers are processed in your store's default currency.

Shopify Payments here includes Shop Pay, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and PayPal.

The distinction people miss:

CapabilityNeeds Shopify Payments?
Per-market product pricesNo — all plans
Per-market percentage price adjustmentsNo — all plans
Displaying prices in local currenciesYes
Manual exchange ratesYes
Processing payment in local currencyYes (or Adyen)

Differentiated international pricing is processor-agnostic. Local currency is not.

Also worth knowing: if a country's local currency isn't supported by Shopify Payments, customers there simply see the market's base currency instead.

The conversion fee splits by store location

Store locationConversion fee
United States, United Kingdom, European Economic Area1.5%
Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and other regions2%

Everything outside the first row pays 2%. If you're modelling margins off a US-authored guide, you're 50 basis points light.

Where the fee shows up depends on your rate mode

With automatic (Dynamic) rates, the fee is baked into the price the customer sees:

Customer price = Base price × Exchange rate × (1 + Conversion fee)

Shopify's worked example: $100.00 USD at a 0.92 EUR rate with a 1.5% fee gives €92.00, then €93.38. Rounding, if enabled, applies after conversion and any price adjustments.

With manual rates, the fee is not added to the customer price — it's deducted from your payout. The customer pays exactly what you set; you receive slightly less. To absorb it, Shopify suggests setting 0.906 against a 0.92 market rate (0.92 × 0.985).

No conversion, no fee: if the customer pays in your payout currency, nothing is charged.

Manual rate constraints you'll hit in the settings screen

They can't be applied to your primary market. Stated explicitly.

Only certain market shapes qualify — single-country markets, or multi-country markets with local currencies turned off. The intended pattern is a single-country market per country you want a fixed rate for.

International fixed prices always win. A manual rate only applies to products in that market without an international price already set.

Refunds ignore your manual rate. Refunds process at the current market rate, because the actual conversion happens at market rates regardless of what you display.

Switching modes deactivates but doesn't delete. Change a market's base currency or flip to automatic, and the manual rate is deactivated — then reactivates if you switch back. A quiet source of unexpected price movement.

Refunds and FX asymmetry

Refund a foreign-currency order and the payout-currency amount is set by the rate at refund time, not order time.

Shopify's own examples: you receive $100.00 on a €92.00 sale at 0.92. If the rate moves to 0.95, refunding €92.00 costs you $96.84 — a $3.16 gain. If it moves to 0.88, it costs $104.55 — a $4.55 loss.

And the asymmetry that matters: the conversion fee charged on the original transaction is not refunded. For high-return categories selling internationally, that's a structural cost, not an edge case. Shopify's own guidance is to process refunds promptly to limit rate drift.

Chargebacks follow the same logic, except no conversion fee is charged on the chargeback conversion.

One more: for subscription products sold in multiple currencies, the conversion rate stays fixed at the first order's rate.

Markets on a shared domain aren't indexed

This is the cross-border detail with the biggest SEO consequence, and it's buried in the automatic redirection page.

Markets set up with a dedicated domain, subdomain, or subfolder: content is automatically indexed by search engines.

Markets that share a domain with another market: geolocation adjusts currency and language on the page, but that content isn't indexed by search engines.

So the easiest possible setup — one domain, currency swaps by visitor location — produces nothing for organic search in those markets. If international organic traffic is a goal, the URL structure decision comes before the currency decision.

There's also an EU carve-out. Customers from the EU reaching a localized experience on an EU ccTLD (.de, .fr, and the rest) are not automatically redirected, for legal compliance reasons. Non-country-specific domains like .com or .shop can still auto-redirect EU visitors. If you run several EU ccTLDs, design your entry paths around this.

Other limits worth knowing

POS in local currency requires a business entity with Shopify Payments configured for that country. Selling in multiple currencies across retail locations in different countries requires multiple business entities — available only on Shopify Plus and Shopify Enterprise Commerce.

Editing orders placed in international currencies is only available to some stores. If you're not eligible, the documented workaround is: refund, create a draft order, email an invoice in the customer's currency.

Draft orders with payment terms in a non-default currency can only be collected by credit card or by marking the order as paid.

Manual payment capture exposes you to rate movement between authorization and capture. Shopify's example: a €90 order estimated at $100 USD captures at $98 after the rate moves.

So what is a currency app actually for?

If you're on Shopify Payments, Shopify already does the conversion. What an app adds is the currency selector UI, geolocation accuracy, design control over the switcher, and a way to place a selector on a theme that lacks one.

Shopify's own suggested alternatives, right after the compatibility warning, are activating automatic redirection or using a geolocation app. If your theme already has a country or language selector, enabling it in the admin may be the whole job.

Three apps verified on the App Store on September 1, 2026:

BUCKS Currency Converter PRO++Currency Converter PlusGLC Geolocation & GEO Currency
DeveloperHUE – A Helixo CompanyCode Black BeltGLC
Rating (reviews)4.9 (1,160)4.7 (196)4.6 (283)
Built for ShopifyYesYesYes
PricingFree plan; $9.99 / $19.99 per month; $95.90/year$9.99/month onlyFree
Free trial7 days14 daysn/a
Currencies160+222Not stated
Markets claim"Full Shopify Market Support""Compatible with the most used Shopify Markets configurations"Not stated
Launched202020152023

Reading the table

The Markets claims are not written the same way. BUCKS states "Full Shopify Market Support for Smooth Checkout Conversions." Currency Converter Plus says it's compatible with the most used Markets configurations — a hedge, not a falsehood, but one that implies configurations outside the mainstream may not be covered. If your setup is unusual, ask the developer before installing.

BUCKS's free plan includes a "Checkout currency notification." That feature is telling. It exists to warn the customer in advance that the checkout currency may differ from the displayed one — the exact failure mode Shopify documents. If you're not on Shopify Payments, understand that a notification is a mitigation, not a fix.

Pricing philosophies differ. BUCKS gives unlimited currencies and geolocation auto-switching on the free tier, gating custom rates, price formatting, and AI analytics behind $9.99/$19.99 monthly or $95.90 annually. Currency Converter Plus has no free tier — a single $9.99/month plan with 222 currencies and per-minute rate updates. Worth noting: that listing's feature bullet says "222 available currencies" while a screenshot caption says "225+ currencies," so confirm with the developer if an exact count matters to you. GLC is free.

None of the three has a Japanese admin. BUCKS and GLC list English only; Currency Converter Plus lists nine other languages, none of them Japanese.

Data access scope differs too. BUCKS requests Shopify Markets settings, plus all order history for the last 60 days, web pixel editing, and browsing behaviour. Currency Converter Plus requests theme viewing and editing of locales, Markets settings, and translations. Broader analytics means broader permissions; make sure you want the analytics before granting the access.

Picking by situation

Shopify Payments + a theme with a selector. Configure Markets currencies and rate mode, enable the selector. No app.

Shopify Payments, no theme selector. A free geolocation/currency app for placement and detection. Pay only when you need custom rates or design control.

Any other processor. Local-currency checkout is off the table. Switch processors or commit to store-currency checkout — don't ship a display-only switch that reverts at checkout.

You only want different prices per market. Per-market prices and percentage adjustments work on all plans without Shopify Payments.

You want international organic traffic. Settle the domain structure first. Shared domains produce no indexable market content.

Before you install

  • Is your processor Shopify Payments or Adyen?
  • Which conversion fee bracket are you in, 1.5% or 2%?
  • Automatic or manual rates — which fits your margin model?
  • If manual: are you prepared to create single-country markets outside your primary market?
  • Have you modelled refund FX drift and the non-refundable conversion fee?
  • Does your analytics plan survive reports being store-currency only?
  • Shared or dedicated domain — does that match your SEO goals?
  • Have you confirmed your specific Markets configuration with the app developer?
  • Do the app's data permissions match the features you'll actually use?

Bottom line

Four steps, in order:

  1. Check the processor. Not Shopify Payments or Adyen means no local-currency checkout, full stop.
  2. Fix your fee bracket and rate mode. That's where the margin is decided.
  3. Choose the domain structure. Shared domains don't get indexed.
  4. Only then ask whether the selector UI and geolocation need an app.

Pricing, currency counts, and plan contents change. Verify against the Help Center and each App Store listing before committing.

Sources

RelatedShopify Validates Addresses for Free — and Tells You Not to Run an App Alongside It

Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.