What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
Search for Shopify background removal apps and you get roundups. Almost none of them mention the thing that should come first.
Shopify already does this, in the admin, on every plan.
From the Help Center page on the media editor:
You can use Shopify Magic to remove or replace the background of an image in the media editor.
And on cost:
Shopify Magic tools and experiences are available for free, regardless of your subscription plan.
So why does a paid app category exist at all? The answer is further down the same documentation, in the considerations section:
The default resolution for generated images is 1 megapixel (MP) resolution based on your image's aspect ratio.
Shopify's documented ceiling for product images, on a different Help Center page, is 25 megapixels. That is a 25x gap between what the platform accepts and what its own AI returns.
This article fixes the boundary of the native tool using only Shopify's documentation, then works out when an app is genuinely warranted — and what happens when you actually divide five apps' pack prices by their credit counts. Researched September 1, 2026.
The short version
A few dozen products, edited one at a time with a human eye on each result? The native media editor is enough. There is nothing to pay.
Hundreds of images to process in one pass? That is where native stops. Shopify generates one scene at a time and the media editor works file by file. Batch processing is the thing the apps are actually selling.
If you cannot afford to lose source resolution, the Magic generation feature is not for you. Output is normalized to 1MP. Straight background removal is one operation; generative background replacement is another, and it costs you pixels.
And every generated image carries an invisible watermark. Commercial use is not restricted. Removal is not possible.
What the native tool does
Shopify frames Magic's image work like this:
Shopify Magic is integrated with the Shopify admin's media editor, so that you can leverage AI to help you with professional image adjustments or asset creation without requiring additional software or design expertise.
Three capabilities are documented.
Background removal and replacement, in the media editor, on desktop and mobile, with automatic subject detection and manual correction where needed, plus solid-color replacement.
Prompt-driven transformation — "Transform your image using simple natural language prompts to change backgrounds, lighting, or other aspects of the image."
Outpainting — "You can extend image backgrounds beyond their original borders." With one caveat: "Outpainting images isn't available on the Shopify mobile app."
The media editor also suggests AI-generated alt text for images that lack it.
Two separate plan conditions, easily conflated
The documentation contains two distinct statements that get read as one.
On price:
For a limited time, media generation in the file editor is available on all Shopify plans at no additional cost.
"For a limited time" is doing real work in that sentence. Shopify is signalling that this may become paid or restricted.
On Sidekick:
Media generation with Sidekick is only available for stores on the Basic plan, Grow plan, Advanced plan, and Shopify Plus plan.
So Sidekick-routed generation excludes Starter, while file-editor generation does not. Different features, different conditions. Sidekick's own plan gating is covered in this article.
Note also that no monthly generation cap appears anywhere in the Help Center. That is not the same as there being no cap — it means none is published.
Three documented limits
Roundups justify apps with vague claims about being "more powerful than the free tool." Read the documentation and the real differences reduce to three.
Limit 1: generated output is normalized to 1MP
Shopify is explicit about the behavior in both directions:
Images larger than 1 MP are scaled down, whereas images under 1 MP are scaled up.
Meanwhile, from the product media documentation:
Your product and collection images can be any size up to 5000 x 5000 px, or 25 megapixels.
A platform that accepts 25MP returns AI output at 1MP. That asymmetry is the single biggest determinant of whether native is sufficient for you.
Run a 4000×3000px (12MP) product photo through generation and you get back roughly 1150×860px. If your product pages rely on zoom, that may not clear your quality bar.
One honest caveat: the 1MP normalization is documented for generation. Whether plain background removal and solid-color replacement follow the same path is not clearly separated in the Help Center text. If you work with high-resolution masters, push one file through and check the output dimensions yourself.
Limit 2: one scene at a time, and unsaved scenes vanish
The Shopify AI image editor creates 1 AI-generated scene at a time. Additional sets can be generated, but any unused scenes are deleted when you close the editor unless you save the images to your device.
You can request more sets, but close the editor and anything you did not download is gone.
The media editor is also a single-file UI. There is no native path for processing 100 products' images in one action. Which is precisely the mirror image of what the apps advertise: "250+ products in a single click," "1000+ product images in one click."
Limit 3: an invisible watermark you cannot remove
An invisible watermark is applied to all generated images, which doesn't restrict commercial use but can't be removed.
On rights, Shopify steps back cleanly:
Shopify doesn't claim ownership over images merchants create using media generation, nor restrict where they can use those images.
No ownership claim, no usage restriction, permanent watermark. If you syndicate the same imagery to Amazon or other marketplaces, know this going in.
When an app is actually warranted
The conditions are narrow and specific:
- You have hundreds of images to process in one pass
- You cannot lose source resolution
- You do not want a watermark in the output
- You need output conformed to an external marketplace's spec (pure white background, fixed dimensions)
Otherwise — a few dozen SKUs, reviewed one at a time — native finishes the job, and an app subscription is pure added cost.
Five background-removal apps
Shopify App Store listings as of September 1, 2026. All pricing in USD.
| App | Developer | Rating (count) | Model | Bulk ceiling | Japanese UI | BFS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pxl ‑ Photo Background Remover | Axel Hardy | 5.0 (31) | Credit packs only | Not stated | No | Yes |
| Pix ‑ Photo Background Remover | SAGE Apps | 5.0 (5) | Subscription + credits | 20–250 products | No | No |
| Background Remover: Bulk Pics | Apporia | No reviews | Subscription + credits | 50–1,000 products | No | No |
| Pixc: AI Image Editing | Pixc | 4.7 (35) | Usage, or $79/mo membership | Not stated | No | No |
| Cutout bulk background remover | cutout.pro | No reviews | Per-credit usage | 10 images at once | No | No |
None of the five lists Japanese. Cutout does not even list English — its only language is Simplified Chinese. Only Pxl carries the Built for Shopify badge.
Divide the packs by the credits
Here is the comparison nobody publishes. A "credit" is not a common unit across these apps. Do the arithmetic and the spread exceeds 200x.
| App | Pack | Per credit |
|---|---|---|
| Background Remover: Bulk Pics | $29 / 3,000 credits | ~$0.0097 |
| Background Remover: Bulk Pics | $149 / 10,000 credits | ~$0.0149 |
| Pix | $80 / 5,000 credits | $0.016 |
| Pix | $179 / 10,000 credits | ~$0.0179 |
| Pxl | $50 / 250 credits | $0.20 |
| Pixc (pay-as-you-go) | $20 / 10 credits | $2.00 |
| Pixc (pay-as-you-go) | $2,000 / 1,000 credits | $2.00 |
Two findings.
Bigger packs are not always cheaper per unit. On Background Remover: Bulk Pics, the $29 / 3,000 pack ($0.0097) beats the $149 / 10,000 pack ($0.0149) by more than 50% per credit. Pix shows the same inversion: $80 / 5,000 is cheaper per credit than $179 / 10,000. In both apps, the largest pack is the worst value. Do not buy the top tier reflexively — divide first.
Pixc's credits are not the same unit as anyone else's. At $2.00 per credit it is over 100x the others. Pixc launched in 2014 as a human retouching service, and its listing still carries lines like "20-day image storage and backup" and "2-day order review period" — language that does not come from an automated pipeline.
There is a second thing to notice about Pixc. Its most recent displayed review is from October 2019. The description says "Rebuilt as a fully automated AI app." So the 4.7 rating across 35 reviews was earned by the human-retouching product, not the current AI one. That is the classic trap in star-rating comparisons.
Pxl ‑ Photo Background Remover
The only Built for Shopify app here. Launched April 3, 2020, rated 5.0 across 31 reviews.
Structurally different from the rest: there is no monthly subscription at all. Free to install, 5 free credits, then $5 for 10, $10 for 30, $25 for 100, $50 for 250. Months where you process nothing cost nothing.
It supports arbitrary background colors and an upload → remove → attach-to-product flow.
A March 2026 US review is usefully specific: "The only place where I had less than perfect results was on images that had black components against dark shadows." Low-contrast subjects are where this class of tool struggles. May and June 2026 reviews praise output quality and UI.
Best fit: stores with unpredictable or intermittent volume.
Pix and Background Remover: Bulk Pics
Structurally near-identical. Both combine free-install credit packs with optional subscriptions, and both differentiate their subscription tiers by how many products you can process in one batch.
Pix: BASIC $10/month (500 credits, 20 products bulk), STANDARD $99/month (5,000 credits, 100 bulk), PRO $199/month (unlimited credits, 250 bulk). Launched March 25, 2025, five reviews.
Background Remover: Bulk Pics: BASIC $9/month (500 credits, 50 bulk), GROWTH $29/month (3,000 credits, 250 bulk), PRO $149/month (unlimited credits, 1,000 bulk). Launched June 8, 2026, zero reviews — under three months old.
Compare within the $29–$99 band and Bulk Pics' GROWTH ($29, 3,000 credits, 250 bulk) beats Pix's STANDARD ($99, 5,000 credits, 100 bulk) on both batch size and price. How much weight you put on zero reviews is the deciding factor.
Pix's description also includes "AI Image Generation – Create product images using DALL·E & MidJourney," so it spans generation as well as removal. A January 2026 US review describes a concrete workflow: "IT can even place the URLs in a meta field which is very useful for creating new Amazon listings with white background image requirements!" That marketplace-conformance use case is real value the native tool does not offer.
Cutout bulk background remover
Pricing reads "first 2 credits for free, then starts at $0.997 per credit, and as low as $0.14 per credit," and it processes 10 images simultaneously.
Treat this listing with caution. Its page navigation shows "2025 Shopify Build Awards" where the other four show 2026, which suggests a stale cache. Zero reviews, Simplified Chinese UI only. Verify against the vendor's own site before treating any of these figures as current.
Choosing by situation
A few dozen SKUs, reviewed individually
Native media editor. No app.
Volume that swings month to month
Pxl. No fixed monthly cost, credits bought as needed, and the only BFS badge here.
Hundreds of images per pass, cost-sensitive
Background Remover: Bulk Pics GROWTH ($29/month, 250 bulk) has the best unit economics. With zero reviews, validate output quality on free credits before subscribing.
Conforming to Amazon's white-background requirement
Pix, on the strength of a review describing that exact workflow in production.
You need a localized UI
None of these five qualifies. If localized operation is a hard requirement, build around the native media editor — the admin itself is translated.
Before you install
- Have you run one real image through the native editor and checked the output dimensions?
- Have you defined your resolution requirement as a number (product zoom, print, marketplace)?
- Does the invisible watermark on generated images affect your syndication plans?
- Have you counted the images you need in one batch, against each app's bulk ceiling?
- Have you divided pack price by credit count yourself?
- Have you confirmed the largest pack is not the worst value?
- Is the star rating you are relying on attached to the current version of the app?
- Do you need localized support, and can you accept that none exists here?
- What is your fallback if Shopify's "for a limited time" free generation ends?
Bottom line
Three conclusions as of September 1, 2026.
Background removal is a native feature. Available in the media editor on every plan. Run one image through it before you evaluate anything paid — for many catalogs that is the end of the project.
The native limits are batch and resolution. One scene at a time, 1MP normalized output, against a 25MP platform ceiling. Those two gaps are essentially the entire third-party value proposition.
Do the credit arithmetic yourself. Across five apps the per-credit price ranged from $0.0097 to $2.00 — over 200x — and in two of them the largest pack was the most expensive per unit.
None of the five offers a localized UI. If that matters to your team, the native editor is the more realistic foundation. Image delivery and compression is a separate problem with its own surprises, covered in our article on image optimization apps and CDN behavior.
All figures verified on September 1, 2026 against the Shopify Help Center and Shopify App Store listings. Pricing, ratings, and review counts change. Confirm current details before installing.
Every Shopify variant has a barcode field, and Shopify now has native bin locations and a native pick list. What it still has no screen for is the one moment that actually prevents a mispick: scanning an item at the packing bench and having Shopify say yes or no. Shopify POS barcode scanning is documented for adding products to a cart, searching, and receiving transfers — not for verifying the line items of an online order. We priced seven real US App Store apps on September 2, 2026 and found they meter five different things: orders, scanning stations, users, fulfillments, and flat rate. At 5,000 orders a month the same job costs $14.99 with Fulfil-IT ‑ Scan & Pack and $938 with Pickware ERP & WMS.