What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
Size, color, material, engraving, gift wrap. Five choices on one product page is an ordinary request. In the Shopify admin, the button to add a fourth option simply isn't there.
On October 15, 2025, Shopify raised the per-product variant limit from 100 to 2,048. A lot of merchants read that as "problem solved." It solved half the problem. The wall most stores actually hit has not moved.
This article separates what changed from what didn't, using Shopify's own documentation, then compares how three product options apps really bill. Research date: August 31, 2026.
The short version
Everything follows from one distinction: the number that went up was variants, not options.
- You were splitting products because color × size crossed 100 → you probably don't need an app anymore. Check theme and app compatibility first
- You need a fourth axis of choice — engraving, wrapping, add-on parts → native Shopify cannot do it. You need an options app
- You need inventory tracked per choice → options apps generally can't. That axis belongs in variants
- You're on Plus and want per-color URLs and copy → Shopify's own Combined Listings app is a candidate
- You want to start free → Globo Product Options, Variant and Easify Custom Product Options both have free plans
What the 2,048 change actually did
Shopify's October 15, 2025 announcement describes the increase as the result of a multiyear rebuild. The data volume for high-variant products was incompatible with the REST Admin API's design, so Shopify shipped a new version of the product APIs on the GraphQL Admin API in April 2024, and more than 6,500 app partners migrated before the limit could be raised.
The important detail is that the ceiling doesn't vary by plan. The Help Center's "Adding variants" page states plainly: "You can create up to 2,048 variants for a product." There is no Basic/Grow/Advanced/Plus split.
So the T-shirt in 10 colors × 8 sizes × 3 print placements — 240 combinations, previously impossible on one page — now fits natively. That is a real improvement.
What it didn't do
The same Help Center page continues:
Each product can have up to three options.
Three axes. Size, color, material. There is no fourth. The variant ceiling went up twentyfold; the option count stayed put.
And Shopify tells you what to do about it, in a note on that same page:
To create a product that has more than 2,048 variants or more than three options, you can use a third-party app from the Shopify App Store, or customize your theme code to extract line item properties.
Shopify's own documentation routes you to the App Store. That is why the category still exists: as of August 31, 2026, the Product variants category of the Shopify App Store lists 476 apps.
What can break above 100 variants
This is the part merchants skip. The Help Center has a dedicated section, "Considerations for adding more than 100 variants," listing constraints that matter operationally:
- 250 media items per product, maximum. Each variant can have exactly one media item, and it must come from the product's media list. You cannot give 2,048 variants their own images
- Some third-party themes don't support more than 100 variants. Theme code changes may be required
- Some theme app extensions, public apps, and sales channels also don't support more than 100. Shopify tells you to contact the app developer directly
- The Stocky app and the legacy Order Printer app don't support more than 100 variants
- Custom apps on the REST Admin API must migrate to the GraphQL Admin API's new product model
Separately, stores holding 500,000 or more variants are subject to a daily cap of 10,000 new variants uploaded via app or CSV import. That cap does not apply on Shopify Plus.
Consolidating your whole catalog onto high-variant pages in one pass can therefore break POS inventory workflows, packing slips, or an installed app. Migrate one product first.
The choices an options app creates are not variants
This is the single most useful thing to understand before installing anything.
The alternative Shopify documents is customizing your theme to extract line item properties, and that is the mechanism most options apps use. What the customer picks is stored as data attached to the cart line item — not as a variant.
The consequences are concrete.
No inventory is allocated. "Engraving text" and "wrap style" don't hold stock, so this approach is wrong for anything where you need a per-choice quantity. If choices need stock levels, that axis belongs in variants.
No SKU split. If your purchasing or 3PL workflow keys off SKU, option-driven choices won't appear there and need a separate rule.
The upside is the same mechanism: price add-ons, conditional logic, and file uploads exist precisely because these aren't variants. Treat options apps as a different layer, not a variant substitute.
On Plus, there is a third path: Combined Listings
Stores on Plus and enterprise commerce plans can install Shopify's first-party Combined Listings app. It links separate products into one storefront listing whose children display as variants, while each child keeps its own title, description, URL, and image gallery — useful when you want per-color SEO.
The limits are documented and worth reading before you commit:
- Plus or enterprise commerce plans only
- Free Shopify themes need version 15.0.0 or later; other themes may need code changes
- Maximum 2,000 variant option values across all child products
- Maximum 60 products per combined listing
- Up to 3 options on the combined listing itself, in addition to each child product's own options
- Cannot be added to a product bundle, and cannot be a subscription product
- With the Shopify Search & Discovery app, child products of a combined listing are excluded from product-option filter results
- Combined listings display on the online store only
It is not a strict upgrade. If bundles or subscriptions are on your roadmap, it is off the table.
How three options apps actually bill
Three apps with genuinely different shapes, on identical axes. All figures are the Shopify App Store listings as of August 31, 2026.
| Globo Product Options, Variant | Easify Custom Product Options | Infinite Options: Product opt | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Developer | Globo Options (Hanoi, VN) | Easify | ShopPad Inc. |
| Rating (reviews) | 4.9 (4,855) | 4.9 (2,964) | 4.7 (2,447) |
| Built for Shopify | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Free plan | Yes — unlimited option sets, products, orders; 15 option types | Yes — 15 option types, 100+ templates | No (14-day free trial only) |
| Paid tiers | $9.90/mo, $19.90/mo | $9.99/mo, $19.99/mo, $99.99/mo | $12.99/mo, single tier |
| Pricing on Plus | $39.9/mo and $59.9/mo | Same price on all Shopify plans | Not stated |
| Languages | 18, including Japanese | 25, including Japanese | English only |
| Price add-ons | Paid tiers | Paid tiers | Included in Essentials |
| Live preview | Advanced tier | Premium tier | Not stated |
| POS support | Advanced tier | Not stated | Not stated |
Three things fall out of that table.
Comparing headline monthly prices tells you almost nothing. Globo and Easify list nearly identical paid tiers — $9.90 vs $9.99, $19.90 vs $19.99. On Shopify Plus they diverge sharply. Globo's listing states $39.9/mo for Premium and $59.9/mo for Advanced on Plus; Easify writes "same price on all Shopify plans" into every tier. Annualized on Plus at the upper tier, that's a gap of roughly $480 a year.
The free plans are not equivalent. Globo's free tier includes 15 option types, unlimited option sets, products and orders, no watermark, and conditional logic among Globo options — but price add-ons and file upload start at the paid tier. Easify's free tier also covers 15 option types plus 100+ templates and 24/7 live chat with a human. If you only need to collect engraving text, free may be enough. If you need to charge for it, you're on a paid tier.
Infinite Options is not built for a Japanese-language storefront. Its listing states English only, with an explicit note that the app has not been translated into Japanese. There's no free plan, just the single $12.99/mo tier. In exchange, it lists integrations with Recharge, Klaviyo, MESA, Order Printer, and GemPages — it is designed to sit inside an English-language app stack.
Picking by situation
You split products to dodge the 100 limit
Try to go back to native first. If your axes number three or fewer, one page covers it with no app. Verify theme, installed apps, and sales channel support for high-variant products before you consolidate.
You need a fourth axis
Native cannot do it. Start on the free tier of Globo Product Options, Variant or Easify Custom Product Options. Move to paid when you need price add-ons or conditional logic against Shopify variants.
You're on Shopify Plus
Easify charges the same on every plan; Globo charges more on Plus. Separately, if per-color URLs matter, put Combined Listings in the comparison — unless bundles or subscriptions are in scope, in which case it's disqualified.
You need stock levels per choice
Design it as variants, not options. With 2,048 available, that is far more workable than it used to be.
Pre-install checklist
- Do you truly need more than three axes? Three or fewer means no app
- Do choices need inventory or SKUs? If so, build them as variants
- Does your theme support more than 100 variants?
- Do Stocky, legacy Order Printer, or your other installed apps support more than 100?
- On Plus, does the app price differently for Plus?
- How far does language support extend — admin, storefront, or both?
- Can you charge a price add-on on the free plan?
- What happens to option data on existing orders after uninstall?
Bottom line
The October 2025 increase to 2,048 variants genuinely fixed the split-product problem. The three-option limit did not move, and Shopify's own documentation still sends merchants to the App Store for a fourth axis.
The order of operations:
- Count your axes. Three or fewer, and native handles it
- Four or more: decide whether choices need inventory. If yes, redesign as variants. If no, an options app fits
- On Plus, check both the app's Plus pricing and the Combined Listings constraints
- Test on one product using a free tier, and confirm theme and app compatibility before rolling out
Pricing and features reflect Shopify App Store listings as of August 31, 2026. Verify current listings before you install.
Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.