What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
Shopify ships returns and exchanges natively. It costs nothing extra. You can create a return from the admin, add exchange items, issue a refund, and let customers file their own return requests through self-serve returns.
So why does a whole app category exist for something Shopify already does? Because the native feature has documented holes — and Shopify writes each of them down in a single line in the Help Center. Skim past those lines and you will design your returns operation around an assumption that isn't true.
Below: exactly where native stops, what that costs you operationally, and how the returns apps bill (spoiler: not on orders). Research date: September 1, 2026.
The short version
If you can process returns by hand from the admin, native is enough. Zero additional cost.
If you want customers to request an exchange themselves, native cannot do it. This is a stated limitation, not a settings problem.
If you want return fees deducted from refunds automatically, native cannot do it. The fee is displayed. The deduction is manual.
If you want automatic return labels outside the United States, native cannot do it. Label generation requires both your primary location and the customer's shipping address to be in the US.
If your return volume is high, price the apps carefully — they bill per return request, not per order, which means your return rate directly drives your app bill.
What native Shopify returns actually cover
Start with the ceiling, not the floor.
From an order in the admin you can click Return, set quantities and a return reason, review the return shipping fee and restocking fee, choose how return shipping is handled, and create the return.
Return rules live under Settings → Policies. The return window is 14, 30, or 90 days, unlimited, or a custom number of days. It starts either from each item's delivery date or from the delivery of the last item in the order. There's an option to extend the window to the next business day when the last day falls on a weekend or holiday.
Return shipping is one of three choices: free, a flat rate charged once per return, or the customer buys their own label. Restocking fees are set as a percentage of the return.
Self-serve returns are turned on under Settings → Customer accounts, where you choose whether customers can submit return requests, cancellation requests, or both. Customers sign in with an email address and a six-digit verification code — no password required.
Return reasons are driven by the product category assigned to each product. Shopify's example: apparel products surface reasons like Too big and Too small. These category-specific reasons are shared across the admin, POS, and self-serve returns, and they feed your analytics so you can see why products come back.
From the admin, you can add exchange items to a return, including a product-level discount on the exchange item. Return financials are calculated automatically to determine whether a refund is owed or a balance needs collecting.
All of that is free.
Where native stops
Exchanges can't be requested by the customer
From the Help Center's considerations for self-serve returns:
Exchanges can't be requested in self-serve returns and you can't have exchange-specific return rules.
Read that twice. Exchanges are merchant-initiated only. The customer's self-serve path ends at "request a return." Everything after that — approving the return, adding the exchange item, communicating the swap — is your team doing manual work in the admin.
The irony is structural: Shopify gives apparel merchants return reasons called Too big and Too small, then gives the customer no way to act on the obvious remedy. For a category where size exchanges dominate return volume, that single line is the entire business case for a returns app.
Return fees are displayed, not deducted
From the return rules page:
Return fees aren't automatically deducted from refunds. When you create a refund, you need to manually deduct any applicable return fees.
Set a 10% restocking fee and Shopify will show it to the customer and show it to you when you create the return. It will not touch the refund. Someone on your team does that arithmetic, every time, on every return.
A related asymmetry: the restocking fee can be edited per return or per item, but the return shipping fee can only be edited per return.
Automatic return labels are US-to-US only
When you create a return, return shipping options are:
- Create a return label in Shopify — the Help Center states this "is available only if your primary location and customer shipping address are both in the United States"
- Upload a return label — a PDF, PNG, or JPEG file, or a label URL, optionally with a tracking number and carrier
- No shipping required
If either end of the shipment sits outside the US, option one disappears. Every international return becomes an uploaded PDF or a return with no shipping information attached. This mirrors the pattern in Shopify's carrier-calculated shipping, which supports a short list of carriers and requires Advanced or higher — shipping automation in native Shopify is built North America first.
Final sale exceptions: products or collections, never both
Two constraints on final sale items:
- You can add multiple products or multiple collections, but not both
- Bundles can't be set as final sale
"All of the Clearance collection, plus these three custom-made items" is not expressible in native return rules. You pick one axis.
The rest of the documented list
Constraints stated outright in the Help Center that change how you'd design the flow:
- Self-serve returns don't work with legacy customer accounts
- A customer can't submit a return request with more than 250 line items — larger requests must be split
- A cancellation request doesn't change the order's state on its own — you review every request
- Processing a cancellation request on a subscription order doesn't cancel the subscription contract — that's a separate action
- Digital goods and personalized products aren't automatically exempted from cancellations — review manually before processing
- Self-serve returns apply to all orders including B2B, and can't be enabled for specific order types
- Return rules with Shopify POS require Shopify POS Pro
- Market-specific return and cancellation rules are early access, available only to certain merchants
- The return and refund policy template generates in English only — operate in another language and you write your own
- Return request notifications aren't available in the Shopify mobile app
Exchange-side constraints from the admin flow: custom items can't be exchange items; exchange inventory isn't reserved until you process the return; you can't add exchange items to orders with duties; order-level discounts can't apply to exchange items (product-level discounts can).
Why this is worth revisiting now
If you sell into the European Union, there's a date.
Shopify's Help Center states that EU Directive 2023/2673 "takes effect on June 19, 2026," requiring merchants to give customers an easy electronic way to exercise a 14-day right of withdrawal, measured from the delivery of the last item in the order.
Shopify's documented configuration:
- Turn on self-serve returns and cancellations, and select Return and cancel requests
- Turn on cancellation rules with the window set to Until item is fulfilled
- Set the return window to at least 14 days, starting from Delivery of last item in order, with the weekend/holiday extension enabled
- Add a visible link in your store so customers can reach both actions
Orders through Managed Markets get compliant cancellation and return policies applied automatically, with no action required.
The market response is visible in the App Store. As of September 1, 2026, EU Withdrawal Button & Form shows 4.9 stars across 2,220 reviews and Revoq ‑ EU Withdrawal Button shows 4.9 across 517 — both carrying the Built for Shopify badge. That much review volume for what amounts to one compliance button is a signal about how many merchants didn't trust the settings alone. What that badge does and doesn't certify is covered here.
Returns apps bill per request, not per order
This is the pricing axis merchants miss.
Loyalty apps bill on monthly orders. Email apps bill on contacts or sends. Returns apps bill on monthly return and exchange requests. Not revenue. Not order count.
Which means: two stores with identical revenue pay different amounts, and the one with the higher return rate pays more. In apparel, where return rates are structurally high, that difference compounds.
Here is what the Shopify App Store listed on September 1, 2026.
| Return Prime:Return & Exchange | Yanet Returns & Exchanges | バクアゲ配送 (formerly 返品くん) | Recustomer | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Developer | Appsdart Solutions Private Limited | Yanet | Nextlab Inc. | Recustomer Inc. |
| Listed location | Berlin, DE | Hanoi, VN | Shibuya, JP | Chuo-ku, Tokyo, JP |
| Rating | 4.8 (724) | 4.8 (262) | 0.0 (0) | 0.0 (0) |
| Built for Shopify | No | Yes | No | No |
| Listed languages | English | English, Japanese + 14 more | Japanese | Japanese |
| Entry price | Free to install | Free plan | Free | Free |
| Free allowance | 5 return requests | 6 per month | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Billing unit | Requests ($0.49 overage) | Requests ($0.20 overage) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Paid tiers | $19.99 / $79.99 / $149.99 | $9.99 / $29.99 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | 15 days | 14 days | n/a | n/a |
| Launched | October 8, 2020 | April 7, 2023 | March 29, 2021 | December 6, 2023 |
What the table says
Built for Shopify plus real review volume plus multi-language is a narrow intersection. Of the four, only Yanet Returns & Exchanges holds the badge, carries 262 reviews at 4.8, and lists more than one language.
Two of the four have zero reviews. Both Japan-based apps — one listed since March 2021, the other since December 2023 — had no App Store reviews at all as of September 1, 2026. That is not evidence of poor quality; distribution may simply happen off the App Store. It does mean the App Store gives you nothing to evaluate, and diligence has to move to direct vendor conversations and reference customers.
One of them isn't even categorized as a returns app. Recustomer's App Store categories are "Payment options - Other" and "Support - Other." Browse the Returns and exchanges category and you will never encounter it.
Every free tier is metered in requests. Five total for Return Prime; six per month for Yanet. Do the arithmetic against your own numbers: 200 monthly orders at a 5% return rate is 10 requests a month — already past both free tiers.
App by app
Return Prime:Return & Exchange
Best for — higher return volume, rule-based automation, and integration with a WMS or carrier stack.
The listing describes a branded return portal where customers raise returns and exchanges, rules that auto-approve or auto-reject by reason, product, and return window, and refund outcomes spanning exchanges, store credit, and refunds — with upsells inside the return flow. It also cites 100+ WMS and logistics integrations, EU right of withdrawal support, and 24/7 support.
Pricing (September 1, 2026) — Free to install: 5 return requests, then $0.49 each. Grow: $19.99/month for 60 requests, $0.49 overage. Thrive AI: $79.99/month for 180 requests, $0.79 overage. Scale: $149.99/month for 450+ requests, $0.49 overage. Paid plans include a 15-day free trial. Charges are billed in USD every 30 days.
Note the overage inversion: Thrive AI is the only tier with a higher per-request overage than the tier above it. If you routinely exceed 180 requests, Scale's $0.49 overage can make the more expensive plan cheaper in total.
Constraints — the listing shows English as the only language. The customer portal is described as supporting multiple languages, but admin and support language coverage isn't stated on the listing.
Reviews — 4.8 across 724. Five stars account for 690 (95%); one star for 11 (2%). A one-star review dated May 18, 2026 describes support going unanswered during a live project and the merchant switching to a competitor; the developer replied two days later apologizing and confirming resolution. A May 27, 2026 review requests admin email notifications on new return and exchange requests.
Fits — stores past 60 monthly requests, operating in English, needing WMS or carrier integration.
Yanet Returns & Exchanges
Best for — multi-language return portals at low volume and low cost.
Carries the Built for Shopify badge. Listed languages: English, Spanish, Finnish, German, Italian, Hindi, Japanese, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Romanian, Russian, Turkish, Vietnamese, Chinese (Simplified), and French.
Pricing (September 1, 2026) — Free: 6 requests per month, customizable return portal, rules and return/exchange reasons, exchange to the same product/variant, refund to discount code and store credit, multiple languages, email notifications, multiple carriers.
Professional: $9.99/month, 80 requests included, $0.20 per extra. Adds exchange to a different product/variant, packing slips, gift code refunds, conditional return/exchange fees, conditional rewards, priority support.
Ultimate: $29.99/month, unlimited requests, automation approval. API/Webhook is listed as "Coming soon." Paid plans include a 14-day free trial.
This is the decision point. The free plan's exchange capability is limited to the same product and variant. Size and color swaps — the exchanges apparel merchants actually need — start at $9.99/month. A free plan that only sends the identical item back is not solving the "Too big / Too small" problem.
Constraints — listed integrations are customer accounts, Shopify Admin, EasyPost, FedEx, and Shippo. API/Webhook remains "Coming soon" even on the top tier.
Reviews — 4.8 across 262. Five stars 245 (94%), one star 5 (2%). A one-star review dated July 15, 2026 reports that approving a return doesn't send return instructions, requiring a manual "resend" of the approval email, and that repeated contact hadn't resolved it. Post-approval notification is the load-bearing step in any returns flow — verify it live during the trial.
Fits — stores needing a non-English portal, staying under 80 monthly requests, and handling carriers outside EasyPost/FedEx/Shippo themselves.
バクアゲ配送 (formerly 返品くん)
Best for — Japanese-language stores running an OMS.
Published by Nextlab Inc. on March 29, 2021. The listing describes consolidating return requests, status management, and customer communication in one system, with conditional flows such as "sale items are non-returnable" and "size exchanges allowed." Notably, it states support for OMS platforms including Next Engine in addition to the ecommerce cart — the only app in this comparison to make that claim.
Feature tags on the listing: automated refunds, exchanges, automated approvals, return portal, return reasons, refund management.
Pricing (September 1, 2026) — the App Store shows "Free." Plan structure and paid options are not stated on the listing; ask the vendor.
Constraints — zero reviews. Japanese only.
Recustomer
Best for — stores designing the whole post-purchase experience, not just returns.
Published by Recustomer Inc. on December 6, 2023. The listing describes four capabilities: try-before-you-buy, delivery tracking, automated returns and exchanges, and automated cancellations. The returns flow is described as automating request intake, exchange inventory allocation, shipping instructions, and refund processing. Checkout is the listed integration.
The listing includes claims such as "automates approximately 82% of inquiries" and "zero response time." These are vendor statements; the methodology and measurement conditions aren't stated on the App Store listing. Treat them as claims to verify with the vendor, not as findings.
Pricing (September 1, 2026) — the App Store shows "Free." Plan structure isn't stated.
Constraints — zero reviews. Japanese only. And as noted, it isn't listed under Returns and exchanges, so category browsing won't surface it.
Picking by situation
A handful of returns a month, handled manually
Stay native. Turn on self-serve returns, configure return rules, upload your own labels when needed. Manual fee deduction is tolerable at low volume.
You want customers to request exchanges themselves
You need an app. Native cannot do this. And if the exchange needs to be a different size or color, Yanet's free tier won't cover it — that's Professional at $9.99/month.
You need a non-English portal with a verifiable track record
Yanet Returns & Exchanges is close to the only option that combines multi-language support, Built for Shopify, and 262 reviews. Test the approval notification during the trial given the review noted above.
100+ monthly requests with WMS integration
Return Prime. Past 180 requests, compare Scale against Thrive AI — the cheaper overage on the higher plan can flip the total.
Selling into the EU
Configure native first. The directive took effect June 19, 2026. Self-serve returns and cancellations on, cancellation window "Until item is fulfilled," return window 14+ days from delivery of the last item, weekend/holiday extension on. Managed Markets orders are handled automatically. Whether that configuration is sufficient for your business is a legal question, not a settings question.
Pre-install checklist
- Do you know your actual monthly return request count? That's the billing unit
- Do customers need to initiate exchanges? Native can't do it
- Same-variant exchange, or different product/variant? That's where free tiers end
- How will you produce return labels? Native auto-generation is US-to-US only
- Do you need automatic fee deduction from refunds? Native won't
- Are you still on legacy customer accounts? Self-serve returns won't work
- Using POS for returns? Return rules require POS Pro
- Selling subscriptions? Cancellation requests don't cancel the contract
- Did you verify post-approval customer notifications live during the trial?
- If the vendor has no App Store reviews, did you get pricing and references directly?
Bottom line
Four steps, in order:
- Configure native first — return rules, self-serve returns, product categories for return reasons. All free
- Decide whether customers need to initiate exchanges. If yes, that single limitation is your entire app justification
- Count your monthly return requests. Not orders. Not revenue. Requests
- Run a real return through the trial, all the way to the approval email
Pricing and features on the App Store change frequently. Every figure here reflects listings as of September 1, 2026 — confirm current pricing on each app's listing before you install.
Primary sources
- Shopify Help Center — Returns and exchanges
- Shopify Help Center — Setting up return and cancellation rules
- Shopify Help Center — Setting up self-serve returns and cancellations
- Shopify Help Center — Creating returns and exchanges
- Shopify App Store — Return Prime:Return & Exchange
- Shopify App Store — Yanet Returns & Exchanges
- Shopify App Store — バクアゲ配送 (formerly 返品くん)
- Shopify App Store — Recustomer
Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.