Skip to main content
Store operations and content

Shopify Sells Shipping Labels in Exactly Eight Countries. Outside Them, the App Category Looks Completely Different.

The Shopify Help Center page on buying shipping labels contains a carrier table. Its rows are the United States, Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain. That is the whole list. Japan is not on it, and neither is most of the world. Using Japan as the worked example, here is why shipping apps outside those eight countries are built around CSV export rather than label purchase, how seven real apps split into label-issuing and CSV-exporting types, and why their pricing is quoted per export batch rather than per monthly order. Researched September 1, 2026.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Updated Read 13 min#Shopify blog operations#App comparisons#For beginners

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

If you have ever compared English and non-English guides to Shopify fulfillment, you will have noticed they never quite line up.

The English guide ends at "buy the label in the order screen, print it, stick it on the box." The Japanese guide starts at "export a CSV and import it into Yamato B2 Cloud or Sagawa e-Hiden." Same platform, different first step.

One page in the Shopify Help Center explains the whole gap. The article on buying shipping labels contains a table of "carriers available through Shopify's carrier accounts in specific countries or regions." These are its rows:

United States, Canada, Australia, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Spain.

That is the complete list. Japan is not on it. Neither is most of the world.

Merchants outside those eight countries do not have "buy a label in the Shopify admin" as an option at all. That single fact explains why the shipping app category in those markets is built around data export rather than label purchase. This article uses Japan as the worked example — the market with the densest local app ecosystem — to show what that category actually looks like and how to compare within it. Researched September 1, 2026.

The short version

If you already run a carrier's own label software and ship a handful of orders a day, what you need is a CSV export app. They start at $2.49 a month.

If you have no carrier contract and do not want to negotiate one, there is exactly one model that gets you to a printed label anyway: an app that resells its own negotiated rates. In Japan that is Plus Shipping. It also has the lowest rating of the seven apps here.

If you do hold carrier accounts and your pain is international paperwork, Shipandco is the one that issues labels and commercial invoices against your own contracts. It rates 4.9 across 145 reviews and is the only app in this set listing English, French and Japanese.

One thing applies to all of them: every app bills in USD, regardless of the market it serves.

What Shopify's native shipping does cover

Outside the eight countries, plenty still works natively. Shipping profiles, rate configuration, fulfillment, manual tracking-number entry and notification emails are all standard on every plan.

Two things are not available.

Buying and printing labels

From the Help Center:

To buy shipping labels in Shopify, your business needs to have an eligible fulfillment location and for some carriers your store needs to be based in the same country as the fulfillment location.

The carriers listed are USPS, UPS, DHL eCommerce, DHL Express and FedEx for the US; Canada Post, DHL Express Canada, Purolator and UPS for Canada; Australia Post for Australia; Evri, DPD, Royal Mail, Yodel and DHL Express Europe for the UK; then Colissimo, Mondial Relay and Chronopost for France, DHL Paket for Germany, BRT Bartolini and Poste Italiane for Italy, Correos and SEUR for Spain.

No Japanese carrier appears anywhere in that table — not Yamato, not Sagawa, not Japan Post.

The same pattern shows up in checkout rates. Third-party carrier-calculated shipping supports five carriers, none of them Japanese, which we covered in our article on carrier-calculated shipping limits.

Exporting label data

Shopify's order CSV export exists, but it emits Shopify's own column layout. It is not the format Yamato B2 Cloud, Sagawa e-Hiden or Japan Post's Yu-Pack Print R can ingest. There is an encoding problem too: those systems generally expect Shift-JIS, and a UTF-8 export arrives as garbled text.

Verdict: in markets Shopify does not sell labels in, shipping paperwork is an app-required area. Which app depends entirely on whether you hold a carrier contract.

Two app types that get compared as if they were one

Roundups list these apps together as "shipping apps." They do fundamentally different jobs.

Label-issuing apps produce the actual waybill. Print it, attach it, ship. Plus Shipping and Shipandco work this way.

CSV export apps produce no label. They convert order data into the layout a carrier's own label software can read, and the label gets printed there. Haiso Manager, Denpyo Pon, Japan Order CSV, TimePort and Simple Shipping Data Export are all this type.

Compare monthly prices without that distinction and a $2.49 app looks like a cheaper version of a $10 one. In reality, choosing any CSV app leaves the carrier-software step in place. Only the issuing type removes work rather than reducing typing.

Seven apps, compared

Shopify App Store listings as of September 1, 2026. Every one states "All charges are billed in USD." None bills in local currency.

AppDeveloperTypeRating (count)Entry priceBatch limitFree trialBFS
ShipandcoShip&coLabel issuing4.9 (145)Free to installPer-label usage billing30 daysNo
Plus ShippingPlus ShippingLabel issuing3.5 (31)Free to installNot statedNot statedNo
Japan Order CSVFlagship Inc.CSV export4.7 (18)Free plan100 orders at once (free) / 2,500 (paid)30 daysYes
Haiso Managerd2c-square.comCSV export4.6 (25)$9.90/monthUnlimited exports30 daysNo
Simple Shipping Data ExportWorld8 Inc.CSV export5.0 (1)Free plan5 / 100 / 1,000 at onceNot statedNo
Denpyo PonFive BitCSV exportNo reviews$10/monthNot stated14 daysNo
TimePortPsyve Inc.CSV exportNo reviews$7/month1 delivery-date rule (unlimited on Pro)14 daysNo

Three things worth reading off that table.

The quota is not monthly orders. Japan Order CSV counts orders "at once," Simple Shipping Data Export counts them per export, TimePort counts delivery-date rules. What matters is how many orders you batch in a single fulfillment session, not how many you sell in a month. Not one of the seven prices on monthly order volume — which is the opposite of how tracking or subscription apps work.

Only Japan Order CSV holds the Built for Shopify badge. Local-language apps carrying it are uncommon.

Two apps have zero reviews. Denpyo Pon and TimePort, the latter launched May 21, 2026, so its absence of reviews is simply age. Shipping is a workflow where an outage stops revenue, so an unproven app belongs in a test store first.

Shipandco

Built by Ship&co in Kyoto and listed as "Shipandco." It lists English, French and Japanese — the only app here with more than one language.

The defining sentence in its description:

Use your carrier accounts (FedEx, UPS, DHL, Yamato, Sagawa, Japan Post, etc).

It assumes you already have carrier contracts. Your negotiated rates apply; Shipandco handles label and invoice generation. It advertises generating labels and paperless commercial invoices in two clicks, with tracking numbers syncing back to Shopify instantly.

The listing reads "Free to install," but the plan detail says "Usage-based: starts at $8/mo + pay per label," and adds: "External charges may be billed by Ship&co separately from your Shopify invoice." Your Shopify bill will not show your true cost, so decide how finance tracks it before you roll it out.

At 4.9 across 145 reviews it is the highest-rated app here. A June 2026 review from a Japanese store asks for Japan Post time-slot selection at checkout — a reasonable read that its strength is international paperwork rather than domestic delivery scheduling.

Best fit: stores with existing carrier accounts losing time to international shipping documents.

Plus Shipping

The mirror image of Shipandco — built for merchants who do not hold carrier contracts.

Sign up and use Yamato, Sagawa and Japan Post. Rates are below list price, from as low as ¥499 (excl. tax) for a size-60 parcel.

There is no subscription: "the only charge is the special shipping rate available to Shopify merchants," and "no costs beyond the shipping rate at all." Invoice and card payment are both supported.

The setup flow is documented on the listing and includes a step people miss: after applying, you wait for each carrier to contact you and send waybill stock. There is a carrier-side onboarding delay between install and first shipment. A fulfillment-outsourcing feature was added May 25, 2026.

The rating is the concern. 3.5 across 31 reviews, the lowest here, with 16% one-star. A May 2026 review from a Japanese store opens by praising the rates, then lists a slow system, payment failures, unpredictable print ordering and late address-error flagging, concluding that above roughly ten shipments a day the operational drag is unavoidable. A July 2026 review, by contrast, calls the flow from order to label print genuinely simple.

Best fit: small to mid-size stores with no carrier contract, shipping under about ten orders a day. If you expect growth, test it at your peak-season volume before committing.

Japan Order CSV

From Flagship Inc. in Tokyo, launched March 22, 2018, and the only Built for Shopify app in this set.

Two tiers. The free Ecosystem plan processes up to 100 orders at once and outputs "Shopify CSV with localized data." The Complete Plan at $29.99/month adds "Download data for Japanese courier" — the carrier formats are paid-only — and raises the batch to 2,500 orders. Thirty-day trial.

A free plan that cannot emit carrier formats is a real trap if you install on the strength of "free plan available."

Technically it is the most explicit listing here: "With the same structure as Shopify's standard csv, you can output in Shift-JIS format without garbled characters, and you can add delivery date and time and Line Item Property by setting." Its Works-with list uniquely includes NP Atobarai and Amazon FBA.

A June 2026 review reports that their theme could not accept the date-picker block and required direct code editing. Check theme compatibility first.

Best fit: stores batching hundreds of orders per session, especially those using NP Atobarai.

Haiso Manager

From d2c-square.com, launched July 8, 2021, rated 4.6 across 25 reviews. $9.90/month or $108.90/year, with a 30-day trial.

Its feature list specifies "CSV generation for Yamato, Sagawa and Japan Post (unlimited exports)" — the only CSV app here with no batch ceiling. It also covers delivery date selection, business-day configuration, export rule conditions, order filtering and tracking-number write-back.

Reviews are almost entirely from Japanese stores. One from June 2026 praises the simplicity and Japanese-language support while noting that replies are sometimes slow, likely because the team is small. Assume Japanese support exists but the team is not large.

Best fit: stores whose volume swings widely month to month, since there is no tier to outgrow.

Denpyo Pon

From Five Bit in Fukuoka. $10/month, 14-day trial, zero reviews.

Its value is specificity. It is the only app that names the exact label systems it targets:

Supported label systems: Sagawa — e-Hiden 2, e-Hiden 3, e-Hiden Pro; Yamato — B2 Cloud; Japan Post — Web Yu-Pack Print, Yu-Pack Print R, Click Post.

The other four say "Yamato, Sagawa and Japan Post formats" without naming versions. If you are on e-Hiden Pro or the web version of Yu-Pack Print, this is the only listing that confirms support. It also supports lead time, weekday, cutoff time and holiday rules for delivery dates.

Best fit: stores that know exactly which label system they run and want compatibility settled up front. With no reviews, plan to validate inside the trial window.

TimePort and Simple Shipping Data Export

TimePort (Psyve Inc.) launched May 21, 2026. Standard is $7/month, Pro is $10/month, and the difference is the number of delivery-date rules (one versus unlimited). Beyond CSV export it adds a no-code earliest-delivery-date display on product pages and date/time selection in the cart. Fourteen-day trial.

Simple Shipping Data Export (World8 Inc.) runs free for 5 orders per export, $2.49/month for 100, and $4.99/month for 1,000 — the cheapest paid plan in this comparison. It can output CSV in either Shift-JIS or UTF-8, or Excel, and can filter to unfulfilled orders only. One review, rated 5.0.

Both are minimum-viable options for small stores. With one review between them, the evidence is the listing text plus whatever you verify in the free tier.

Choosing by situation

No carrier contract, a few orders a day

Plus Shipping. It is the only route to a printed label without a contract. Watch the volume ceiling the reviews describe.

Carrier contracts in place, international shipments

Shipandco, for invoice generation and multilingual support. Budget for billing that arrives outside your Shopify invoice.

Already running carrier software, just want to stop retyping

Any CSV app. Denpyo Pon if your label system is specific, Haiso Manager if volume swings, Japan Order CSV if you batch large and use NP Atobarai.

Minimum spend

Start on Simple Shipping Data Export's free tier. Five orders per export is the whole test.

Before you install

  • Do you hold a carrier contract? If not, you need the issuing type.
  • Do you know the exact name and version of your label software?
  • How many orders do you batch per fulfillment session (not per month)?
  • Does the export support the character encoding your carrier software expects?
  • Have you modelled annual cost in USD, including FX movement?
  • Can your theme accept a delivery-date block in the cart?
  • Can you import a real export into your carrier software inside the trial window?
  • If the app has no reviews, what is your rollback plan?
  • Do you also need delivery date and time selection? See what Shopify's native delivery date support covers.

Bottom line

Three conclusions as of September 1, 2026.

Shopify sells shipping labels in eight countries. That is not a setting, and it is the reason the shipping app category outside those countries is organized around data export. Guides written for those eight markets do not translate into instructions elsewhere.

The category splits into label-issuing and CSV-exporting apps. A CSV app leaves the carrier-software step in place. Decide whether you want to remove the work or just remove the retyping.

Compare batch sizes and contract assumptions, not monthly prices. Not one of these seven bills per monthly order, and all of them bill in USD no matter which market they serve.

Fulfillment failures stop revenue directly. Push a real export all the way through your carrier's software inside the trial period before you make any of these apps load-bearing.


All figures verified on September 1, 2026 against the Shopify Help Center and Shopify App Store listings. Pricing, ratings, and review counts change. Confirm current details before installing.

RelatedShopify Validates Addresses for Free — and Tells You Not to Run an App Alongside It

Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.