What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
"Can Shopify let customers pick a delivery date?" needs a two-part answer. Part one: there is no native feature for a customer to choose a delivery date or a delivery window. Part two: putting that picker inside checkout is Shopify Plus only — but that isn't the same as being locked out entirely.
The gap bites hardest in markets where carriers sell named delivery windows. In Japan, for example, the three major carriers — Yamato, Sagawa, and Japan Post — all offer a fixed set of arrival slots (morning, 14:00–16:00, and so on), and buyers expect to pick one at purchase. Miss that and you eat redelivery attempts and support tickets. Nothing in Shopify's Shipping and delivery settings or Checkout settings covers it. Local delivery doesn't. Local pickup doesn't.
What makes this confusing is that Shopify hasn't published nothing. The help center documents a theme customization that puts a jQuery UI date picker on the cart page. It works, in a narrow sense, and then leaves you holding every hard part.
Below: where the platform boundary actually sits, why the DIY route collapses under real operating rules, and seven real scheduling apps compared on the same axes — four built for the Japanese market, three international. Research date: September 1, 2026. All prices are USD as listed on the Shopify App Store.
The short version
If you need a date picker inside checkout — on the information, shipping, or payment step — you need Shopify Plus. This is a platform constraint, not an app constraint, so no vendor can sell you around it. Without Plus, the input goes on the cart page, and at that point most of these apps converge on the same placement.
If you need carrier-specific delivery windows as a preset rather than something you hand-build, the Japan-market apps are the only ones here that list it. International apps let you define arbitrary time slots, which gets you the same UI — as a configuration project you own.
By scenario:
- Cheapest paid entry point anywhere in this set → 基本の配送日時指定 (free plan, $1.99/mo paid) — but it launched in October 2025 and has zero reviews
- Deepest local logistics integration → 配送日時指定 .amp ($9.80/mo, Yamato B2 Cloud API, shipping-label CSV)
- Longest trial before you commit → 配送マネージャー ($9.90/mo, 30-day trial)
- Broadest feature surface, longest track record → Zapiet ‑ Pickup + Delivery ($29.99/mo, live since 2015, 1,808 reviews)
- Free tier to validate demand → Bird Pickup Delivery Date or Pickup Delivery Date Pickeasy (both 10 orders/month, 1 location)
Where the platform boundary actually sits
Checkout date pickers are Plus-gated
The Checkout UI extensions overview on shopify.dev states it directly: extensions for the information, shipping, and payment steps are available only to stores on a Shopify Plus plan.
Shopify also publishes a tutorial called Build a date picker for a specific shipping rate, which is exactly what it sounds like — a worked example of collecting a delivery date tied to a chosen shipping rate. It carries the same Plus badge at the top. Shopify has acknowledged the requirement is common and built the reference implementation on top of a plan-gated surface.
Worth noting for the comparison below: that tutorial stores the selected date in an order metafield via applyMetafieldChange, then surfaces it on the order detail page. Shopify's own reference answer for "where does the date go" is a metafield, not an order note.
But "no Plus means nothing at checkout" is wrong
Thank you page block targets in the same Checkout UI extensions API carry no Plus restriction. Neither do Customer accounts UI extensions. Public apps built on Shopify Functions work on Basic and above (custom-app Functions are the Plus-only case).
None of that substitutes for a delivery date picker, though, and the docs say why: Thank you page targets can read metafields through the Metafields API but have no write access. You can render a "when would you like this?" UI after the order is placed and have no sanctioned path to write the answer back to the order.
So the Plus gate applies to one specific thing — collecting the date before purchase, inside checkout. Give that up and put the input on the cart page, and your plan stops mattering.
Local delivery and local pickup don't fill the gap
Enabling local delivery gets you zones by radius (up to 100 miles / 160 km) or postal code, per-zone rates with conditional pricing, a delivery-instructions field, and the option to require a phone number. No date. No window.
Local pickup's "Expected pickup date" is a merchant-side dropdown for your own processing time, rendered to the customer as text at checkout. It is not a customer-facing scheduler.
Delivery customizations are a different feature entirely
A recurring misread: that Shopify Functions' delivery customizations can do this. The Delivery Customization Function API defines three operations — reorder, hide, and rename the delivery options shown at checkout. Renaming can't drop the carrier name that gets prepended automatically; reordering must keep the cheapest shipping option first.
That's control over how delivery methods appear. It has no input surface for collecting a date or a window from the buyer. Conflating the two will send your requirements doc down the wrong path entirely.
Why the DIY build fails
The help center's app-free route embeds a jQuery UI date picker on the cart page. Here's what it costs.
It only works on the page-based cart at /cart. Drawer carts and popup carts are out — which is the default in most modern Online Store 2.0 themes. Vintage themes aren't supported. Dawn-family themes don't load jQuery, so you're adding the library and its weight to your storefront.
And the value lands in a cart attribute and stops:
{{ cart.attributes.date }}
A date string on the order. Everything that makes it usable is yours to build:
- Blocking closed days, year-end holidays, and long weekends
- Rolling to the next business day past a daily cutoff (lead time)
- Varying the earliest available date by region
- Rendering the carrier's named delivery windows as selectable options
- Excluding products that can't be scheduled (frozen goods, preorders)
- Getting the chosen date onto the shipping label export
Each is doable in JavaScript. The question isn't whether you can write it — it's whether you'll still be maintaining the holiday table and the cutoff-boundary logic three Decembers from now. If the answer is no, a ~$10/month app is cheaper than the first bad order.
Seven scheduling apps compared
Four Japan-market apps and three international ones, on identical axes. Everything below reflects the Shopify App Store as of September 1, 2026.
| 配送日時指定 .amp | 配送マネージャー | カレンダーマスター | 基本の配送日時指定 | Zapiet ‑ Pickup + Delivery | Bird Pickup Delivery Date | Pickup Delivery Date Pickeasy | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Developer (country) | &d (JP) | d2c-square.com (JP) | TAM EC (JP) | karabiner.inc (JP) | Zapiet (GB) | BirdChime (IN) | Logbase (IN) |
| Launched | Apr 29, 2019 | Jul 8, 2021 | Oct 6, 2020 | Oct 7, 2025 | Feb 17, 2015 | Jun 30, 2022 | May 29, 2020 |
| Built for Shopify | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Free plan | No | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| What "free" means | — | — | — | No stated cap (feature-limited) | — | 10 orders/mo, 1 location | 10 orders/mo, 1 location |
| Paid entry point | $9.80/mo | $9.90/mo | $9.80/mo | $1.99/mo | $29.99/mo | $19.99/mo | $9.99/mo |
| Free trial | 14 days | 30 days | 14 days | 7 days | 14 days | 14 days | 14 days |
| Where the input lives | Cart (checkout on Plus) | Cart (checkout on Plus) | Cart | Cart | Not stated (reviews say cart) | Cart / checkout / POS | Checkout widget is Premium ($29.99/mo, Plus) |
| Carrier delivery windows | Yamato / Sagawa / Japan Post presets stated | Three carriers stated | Time display supported; no carrier presets | Free-text time slots | Build your own slots | Build your own slots | Build your own slots |
| Closed days, lead time, cutoff | Holidays, extended closures, cutoff, min/max date | Holiday calendar | Store holidays, blocked dates, cutoff, earliest date | Holidays incl. public holidays; extras on Basic | Block dates, cutoff times, prep times | Blackout dates, cut-off, prep time | Blackout dates, cut-off, prep time |
| Per-product / per-region | Region on NORMAL, per-product on ADVANCED ($19.80/mo); tag-based exclusion | Not stated | Required/excluded products; no region rules | Region on Basic; per-product not stated | Product prep + date restrictions on Advanced ($79.99/mo) | Product prep times on Growth ($49.99/mo); zip validation on Essential | Product prep, fulfillment type, blackout dates, zip/zone delivery days |
| Where the date is stored | Order metafield (since May 12, 2026) | Not stated | Order metafield | Order metafield | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Languages listed | Japanese | Japanese | Japanese | Japanese | English + 11 others, no Japanese | English | English + 5 others, no Japanese |
| Japanese support | Yes ("no direct support in English") | Yes ("no direct support in English") | Yes ("no direct support in English") | Yes ("no direct support in English") | Not stated (English) | Not stated (English) | Not stated (English) |
| Rating / reviews | 4.4 / 13 | 4.6 / 25 | 5.0 / 11 | none / 0 | 4.9 / 1,808 | 4.9 / 482 | 5.0 / 1,288 |
| 2025–26 negative themes | One 2-star, no text | None (lows are 2023, 2024) | No low ratings | No reviews | Peak-season config breakage, support delays, unremovable postcode validator, pricing opacity | Order limits not enforced, pickup option disappears, rotating support contacts | Undisclosed CCS API dependency, install breaking themes, bypassable zip validation |
| Code left after uninstall | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Multiple reports 2020–2024; vendor says "delete one line in theme.liquid" | None reported | 2024 report of a permanently locked cart date picker |
What the table actually tells you
Without Plus, the "where does it appear" column mostly collapses. Four listings mention a checkout placement: 配送日時指定 .amp, 配送マネージャー, Bird, and Pickeasy — and Pickeasy puts its Plus checkout widget on the top Premium tier at $29.99/mo, which is 3x its $9.99 entry point. If you're not on Plus, nearly every option here puts the input on the cart page, and this axis stops differentiating anything.
A whole parallel app market exists because of one localization requirement. The four Japan-market apps are Japanese-only in UI, Japanese-only in support, and priced at $1.99–$9.90/mo. The three international apps carry Built for Shopify badges, hold between 482 and 1,808 reviews against 0 to 25 for the local four, and none of them list Japanese at all. If your market has carrier-defined delivery windows, that's the actual fork in the road: buy the preset, or build the slots yourself in a general-purpose app and own the mapping forever.
Listing text and listing metadata disagree in at least two places, and both matter. Bird's description claims availability "in 90+ languages" while its Languages section lists English only. Pickeasy's listing says nothing about Shopify's Carrier-Calculated Shipping API — but two 2025 one- and two-star reviews and the vendor's own replies establish that configurations using in-app shipping rates can require it, which can mean a Shopify plan upgrade or a monthly add-on. Neither of these is discoverable from the marketing copy.
Review volume determines what you can learn before installing. With 1,808 and 1,288 reviews, Zapiet and Pickeasy give you a readable failure profile: Zapiet's 2025–26 lows cluster on peak-season breakage (an April 2026 reviewer describes closed days becoming deliverable and same- and next-day options disappearing at once), a cart-page postcode validator that support confirmed can't be hidden (February 2026, two separate stores), and add-on costs beyond the Essential tier (March 2026). With 0 to 25 reviews, the Japan-market apps offer no such signal — which shifts the burden entirely onto your own trial-period testing.
Uninstall residue is mostly unknowable here. Only two of seven have any public information, both from review threads. Zapiet has repeated 2020–2024 reports that its cart code can't be fully removed; the vendor consistently replies that it's one line in theme.liquid and that a removal guide is sent automatically on uninstall. An April 2024 Pickeasy review describes a date picker that stays locked on the cart page even after disabling the app in theme settings. For the other five, absence of reports is not evidence of clean removal.
App notes
配送日時指定 .amp
The widest operational surface in this set: Yamato, Sagawa, and Japan Post presets plus custom carriers, Yamato B2 Cloud API integration ($0.05 per usage-based charge), shipping-label CSV export, tracking-number upload, and connections to local fulfillment services. Shipped changes through 2026 — tag-based scheduling exclusions in February, order metafield storage in May, and Sagawa's leave-at-door option in August.
Two tiers, $9.80 and $19.80/mo, and per-product scheduling rules sit on the upper one — so the practical floor doubles if you need them. Note that the app detail page and the reviews page reported different totals on the same day; the reviews page value of 4.4 across 13 is internally consistent and is what the table uses. The only substantive low rating is an April 2024 two-star about widget render latency causing cart abandonment, which the vendor answered with a performance release that same month.
配送マネージャー
Primarily a shipping-label CSV and tracking-notification tool that happens to include date scheduling. Covers all three major Japanese carriers, compact parcel services, split shipments, and bulk tracking notifications over LINE, with per-theme control over whether the calendar renders at all — useful if you sell cross-border from the same store.
Flat pricing at $9.90/mo or $108.90/year with no feature tiers, and a 30-day trial, the longest here. Both one-star reviews date to 2023 and 2024 and concern support response time; nothing negative since. A June 2026 review praises Japanese-language support while noting replies can be slow, apparently from a small team.
カレンダーマスター ‑ 配送日時指定
Scoped tightly to scheduling, sold as a single $9.80/mo plan with no tier decision to make. Store holidays, blocked dates, order cutoff, earliest date and available range, plus per-product rules for requiring or forbidding scheduling. Selected values go to an order metafield. Rating is 5.0 across 11 with zero one- and two-star reviews.
Two caveats: the listing has no Data access section at all, so you can't audit requested permissions before installing, and there's no mention of region-based rules. Suited to stores that can run a single nationwide lead time.
基本の配送日時指定
Launched October 7, 2025 — the newest here. The free Starter tier covers lead time, time slots, notes, holidays including public holidays, and a business-day calendar on the storefront; the $1.99/mo Basic tier adds ad-hoc closures and per-region lead times. That $1.99 floor is far below anything else in this set.
The offsetting fact is zero reviews. Its "Works with" section lists Shopify Admin only, with no checkout or customer accounts extensions, and per-product rules aren't mentioned. The free tier makes evaluation cheap, but this is one to exercise on a duplicated theme before it touches production.
Zapiet ‑ Pickup + Delivery
Live since 2015 with 1,808 reviews, a Built for Shopify badge, and the broadest integration surface here — POS, customer accounts, Flow, Google Calendar, Recharge — designed to run pickup, local delivery, and shipping through one configuration, with per-slot order limits and zone rules.
No free plan; $29.99/mo entry. It also requests the widest permission set of any listing here that publishes one: customer data editing, order editing, discount editing, Shopify Functions (delivery and payment customizations), and online store editing including the checkout page. With no Japanese UI or support, running this in Japan means keeping someone in-house who can handle vendor correspondence in English.
Bird Pickup Delivery Date
The free tier covers 10 orders/month on one location with date and time slots, blackout slots, cut-off and prep times, and rates. Paid starts at $19.99/mo across three tiers. Its listing is the clearest here about placement — "cart, checkout & POS" — and carries a Built for Shopify badge, with 5 one-star and 1 two-star out of 482.
Three of those one-stars are from 2025–26: order limits not enforcing and letting through more orders than the merchant could fulfill (June 2026), a blank screen immediately after install (June 2026), and customers repeatedly unable to select pickup (May 2025). On the first, the vendor acknowledged the defect and stated it had refunded the subscription in full. Since the free tier is real, the sensible move is to build your target delivery windows as slots and confirm they render and submit before paying.
Pickup Delivery Date Pickeasy
1,288 reviews at 5.0, Built for Shopify, and a free tier at 10 orders/month on one location. Paid starts at $9.99/mo, with the Plus checkout widget on the $29.99/mo Premium tier. The configuration granularity is the finest here: per-product prep time, fulfillment type and blackout dates, delivery days by zip code or zone, per-slot order limits, and day-of-week cutoffs.
The thing to check before you budget: configurations that set shipping rates inside the app can require Shopify's Carrier-Calculated Shipping API. That appears nowhere on the listing — only in June and August 2025 low-star reviews and the vendor's replies — and can translate into a plan upgrade or an added monthly cost. A November 2025 reply from the vendor also states the app doesn't support live carrier integrations.
Outside the seven, Flare: Delivery Date Picker is worth knowing about for its pricing model: bands tied to monthly revenue, starting at $39/mo up to $20K/month, with the Plus checkout date picker on the $99/mo tier. Revenue-banded billing doesn't appear anywhere else in this category.
Before you install
- Confirm your plan first. Not on Plus means rewriting the requirement around a cart-page input, not shopping for a workaround.
- Check whether your theme uses a drawer cart or a page cart. If you're considering the DIY route, a drawer cart rules out the documented method immediately.
- Decide which named delivery windows you'll accept, per shipping method, before you shortlist. Choosing an international app makes that mapping a configuration project you own.
- Decide who maintains the holiday table and cutoff rules, and when. That work recurs annually regardless of which app you pick.
- Confirm whether you need per-region lead times or per-product exclusions. If so, 配送日時指定 .amp needs ADVANCED ($19.80/mo), Zapiet needs Advanced ($79.99/mo), and Bird needs Growth ($49.99/mo).
- Confirm where the selected date is stored. An order metafield is readable from Flow and other apps; an order note or cart attribute is not, in any structured way.
- Ask the vendor what remains after uninstall. Five of these seven publish nothing about it.
- Test on a duplicated theme, specifically around the cutoff boundary and the day before and after a closed day. Those are where the bugs in the review threads live.
Bottom line
Three decisions, in order.
First, settle the Plus question. A date picker on the information, shipping, or payment step requires Shopify Plus, and no app changes that. Thank you page and customer account extensions are available on Basic and above, but Thank you page targets have no metafield write access, so they aren't a workaround. Without Plus, design around the cart page and move on.
Second, decide build versus buy. The documented DIY path is page-cart only, unsupported on Vintage themes, and produces a bare string in cart.attributes.date. Holidays, lead time, delivery windows, and product-level rules are all yours. The test isn't whether your developer can write it — it's whether the holiday table gets maintained every year. If not, $10/month is the cheaper answer.
Third, sort by localization and configuration depth. Carrier-preset delivery windows plus native-language support points to the Japan-market apps; pickup scheduling, slot capacity, and zone logic points to the international ones. Within the first group, 配送日時指定 .amp if labels matter, 配送マネージャー if labels are the actual job, カレンダーマスター if scheduling is all you need, 基本の配送日時指定 if you want to spend almost nothing to find out. Within the second, budget the slot-mapping work — it's real, and no listing prices it for you.
Pricing and review counts move, and we observed the App Store returning different totals for the same listing within a single day. Every figure here reflects September 1, 2026; re-check the listing before you commit.
Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.