Skip to main content
SEO and acquisition apps

Shopify direct mail and postcard apps: the App Store price is not the price you pay

Six Shopify direct mail apps priced on incompatible denominators, normalized. Direct Mail Manager lists $0/$5/$10 per month on the App Store while its own pricing page shows $0 or $199 per month plus $0.686 to $0.873 per 4x6 postcard. PostPilot lists as free to install but charges $99 or $499 per month plus per-piece. Poplar Mail's App Store per-piece prices run 8 to 11 percent below its own page, and identity resolution is a separate line at $0.07 per match. Postage is stated as included by only three of the six. Shopify itself has no postal channel, no Flow mail action, and no ZIP code segment filter. Researched September 3, 2026.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Updated Read 19 min#SEO and traffic#App comparisons#Shopify blog operations

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

An email-first retention program eventually reaches customers who stop opening anything. A physical postcard is one of the few remaining ways to reach them, and it does not depend on inbox placement. The practical question is what it costs per piece, per month, and per address you do not already have.

That is harder to answer than it should be. Shopify has no postal channel of its own, so every option is an app, and the apps do not price on the same denominator. Some charge a monthly platform fee plus a per-piece rate, some charge only per piece, and some charge for campaign slots on your Shopify invoice while billing the actual mail somewhere else.

The mismatch gets worse when you compare the App Store listing against the developer's own pricing page. Direct Mail Manager lists tiers at $0, $5, and $10 per month on the App Store; its own page shows $0 or $199 per month plus $0.686 to $0.873 per 4x6 postcard. PostPilot Direct Mail Platform shows one "Free to install" plan; its page shows $99 and $499 per month tiers. Five of the six apps here have a gap of this kind.

Every figure below is labeled with its source, either the App Store listing or the developer's pricing page, and all were checked on September 3, 2026.

What Shopify can and cannot do on its own

Shopify has no way to send physical mail. This is not a category where the native features might be enough.

The complete Shopify Flow action reference contains no action that mails anything. The send actions available are Send internal email, Send order invoice, Send draft order invoice, Send payment reminder, Send B2B access email, Send Shopify alert for errors, Send HTTP request, and Send Admin API request. The last two are the seam the connector apps occupy: with engineering resource you can POST to a vendor's API from a Flow, and two apps below register their own Flow action so you do not have to.

Shopify Email no longer exists under that name. It is now Shopify Messaging, covering email, SMS, and WhatsApp from the Shopify admin. Postal mail is still not part of it.

Segmentation is where merchants are most often surprised. Shopify-based segment filters include customer_regions for states, customer_cities, customer_countries, and customer_within_distance for a radius around a saved location. There is no ZIP or postal code filter in the reference guide, so "these 40 ZIP codes around our new store" has to be approximated with a radius or targeted inside the vendor's platform.

Two further gaps matter operationally. Shopify tracks email_subscription_status and sms_subscription_status but has no postal equivalent, so a mail opt-out lives only in the app you choose, which makes the vendor's suppression handling a real evaluation criterion. And Shopify's documentation warns that customers with multiple addresses "might be included in more than one customer segment that uses this filter" for city and region filters. For email that is an annoyance. For mail it is a duplicate piece you paid postage on.

One structural fact underlies everything below: Shopify holds a shipping address only for people who have placed an order.

Where the App Store and the developer disagree

AppApp Store listingDeveloper pricing pageFigure used here
PostPilot Direct Mail PlatformOne plan, "Free to install"Free, Growth Services $99/month (cards from 68¢), Pro Services $499/month (cards as low as 62¢), Enterprise customDeveloper page
Poplar MailFree ($0.67 each), Lite $249/month ($0.59), Pro $499/month ($0.49)Free ($0.73), Lite $249/month ($0.66), Pro $499/month ($0.55)Developer page
BirdseyePost – Direct MailOne plan, "Free". No per-piece pricing shownNo platform fee; $0.65 to $0.99 per piece by formatDeveloper page
ZAP~POST Direct Mail MarketingBasic free, Standard $10/month, Pro $20/month, Premium $40/month, by piece volumePer-piece printing and postage not published on the listingApp Store, gap flagged
Direct Mail ManagerBasic free, Pro $5/month, Unlimited $10/month, campaign slots onlyStarter $0/month ($0.873 per 4x6), Pro $199/month ($0.686 per 4x6)Both
IgnitePOST: Handwritten CardsFree to install, $3.99 per handwritten cardPrepaid $1.75 to $4.39 per card, or subscription $109 to $1,744/monthDeveloper page

All figures checked September 3, 2026.

Poplar Mail is the subtle case: the monthly fees agree exactly at $249 and $499, so a reader skimming both pages assumes they match, but the App Store per-piece rates run roughly 8 to 11 percent below the developer's own page across all three tiers. Direct Mail Manager is the clearest example. The $5 and $10 charges on your Shopify invoice buy campaign slots, not mail. A merchant sending more than 1,000 pieces a month is looking at $199 per month on the developer side plus $10 on the Shopify side plus per-piece cost.

Comparing on one denominator

AxisPostPilotPoplar MailBirdseyePostZAP~POSTDirect Mail ManagerIgnitePOST
Entry platform fee$0, reporting only$0$0$0$0$0, prepaid
Fee to send with automations$99/month$0$0$0 to $40/month$0, or $199/month at volumenone
Cheapest published 4x662¢$0.55$0.65not published$0.686not applicable
Postage stated as includedYesNot statedYes, plus taxNot statedNot statedYes, USPS First Class stamp
Shopify Flow declaredNoNoNoYesYesNo
Email to address matchingMailMatch™$0.07 per matchNot stated; Acquisition Audience is prospectingNoNoNo
Anonymous visitor matchingSiteMatch™, Pro tierLite tier and abovenot statedNoNoNo
Rating (reviews)4.9 (150)5.0 (7)4.8 (18)0.0 (0)0.0 (0)5.0 (10)
Developer HQNew York, NYNew York, NYToronto, CanadaLondon, UKTarpon Springs, FLCambridge, MA
Built for Shopify badgeNoNoNoNoNoNo

Two rows need a warning. The per-piece row is not strictly comparable, because postage inclusion is stated by only three of the six. And the badge row is uniform: none of the six carries Built for Shopify, so the badge cannot be used as a filter here.

Review depth is equally uneven. PostPilot has 150 reviews; ZAP~POST and Direct Mail Manager have zero; IgnitePOST's most recent review is dated June 16, 2023. Zero reviews is not evidence of a bad product, but it is an absence of evidence, and it should change how you pilot rather than whether you consider the app.

PostPilot Direct Mail Platform

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for PostPilot Direct Mail Platform, showing its rating and key visual

Source: Shopify App Store (PostPilot Direct Mail Platform), retrieved September 3, 2026

PostPilot Direct Mail Platform launched May 24, 2018 and has 4.9 stars across 150 reviews as of September 2026. Its listing shows one "Free to install" plan covering platform access and analytics. Sending with automations starts at Growth Services, $99 per month, with 4x6 postcards from 68¢; Pro Services is $499 per month with 4x6 postcards as low as 62¢. Postage is explicitly included, and the developer's FAQ states there is no minimum order.

The differentiators sit high in the ladder. MailMatch™ resolves email addresses to postal addresses from Growth upward, while SiteMatch™, which identifies anonymous site visitors from a pixel, requires Pro Services at $419 per month billed annually or $499 monthly. Formats include 4x6, 6x9, and 6x11 postcards, handwritten cards at $1.89 to $2.99, and a mini catalog called Cardalog.

Reviews weigh toward account management rather than software; one from Alen | Store (US, five months using the app) mentions fast creative turnaround. Several mention strong ROI without figures, which are merchant self-reports rather than product specifications, and one 1-star review's content was not retrieved. Shopify Flow is not declared on the listing, so orchestration lives in PostPilot or Klaviyo.

Poplar Mail

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Poplar Mail, showing its rating and key visual

Source: Shopify App Store (Poplar Mail), retrieved September 3, 2026

Poplar Mail, from Share Local Media, publishes the most granular price list of the six: 4x6 postcards at $0.73 on Free, $0.66 on Lite, $0.55 on Pro, with 6x9, 6x11, letters, bifolds, and trifolds each on their own line up to $1.01. Extra pages cost $0.03 for black-and-white and $0.05 for color, and letters over six pages carry an additional $2.00 postage charge on Free and Lite. Whether base postage is included in the headline rate is not stated either way.

It is also the only one of the six that prices identity resolution per match rather than as a per-piece add-on: Email to Address Append at $0.07 per match and Lookalike Modeling at $0.07 per address. Site Visitor Retargeting is gated to Lite at $249 per month.

Poplar Mail requests view-only Shopify access with order history limited to the last 60 days, and publishes SOC 2 Type II compliance, SSO and SAML options, and Automated Data Subject Request Fulfillment. The evidence base is thin: seven reviews, all 5-star, dated between April 2024 and February 2025, one of them from 2(X)IST (US, about two years using the app) praising attribution and holdout testing. With seven reviews and none negative, no conclusion about reliability at peak season is supportable.

BirdseyePost – Direct Mail

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for BirdseyePost – Direct Mail, showing its rating and key visual

Source: Shopify App Store (BirdseyePost – Direct Mail), retrieved September 3, 2026

BirdseyePost – Direct Mail carries no platform fee at any tier. Addressed Mail is $0.65 for a 4x6, $0.70 for a 5x7, $0.78 for a 6x9, and $0.99 for a 6x11 or a letter in an envelope. It is the only one of the six whose pricing page states that printing, shipping, postage and tax are all included, with unlimited creative design at no extra cost. Add-ons are Acquisition Audience at +$0.20 per piece and SmartMaps at +$0.10 per piece; the page does not explain what SmartMaps does.

It is also the only one of the six offering Neighborhood Mail (EDDM), geographic saturation mail in 6x9 and 6x11 at $0.70 and $0.95. That is mail-region targeting rather than person-level targeting, and the two should not be conflated. SnapCapture™ captures contact information when a recipient scans a postcard QR code.

Two cautions. The App Store listing shows no pricing beyond the word "Free," so it is useless for budgeting. And it requests the broadest permission set of the four apps here whose listings publish a data access panel — PostPilot's and IgnitePOST's do not — covering edit access to customers, orders across all history, discounts, web pixels, and price rules, plus browsing behavior and a client ID cookie. That is consistent with what the product does, but read it before installing. The developer is headquartered in Toronto, and the oldest of its 18 reviews describes an earlier ad-analytics product rather than direct mail.

ZAP~POST Direct Mail Marketing

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for ZAP~POST Direct Mail Marketing, showing its plans and key visual

Source: Shopify App Store (ZAP~POST Direct Mail Marketing), retrieved September 3, 2026

ZAP~POST Direct Mail Marketing is built around Shopify Flow, one of only two apps here that declares a Flow integration, with abandoned basket reminders and lapsed-customer letters as its stated use cases. Tiers are priced by mail volume: Basic free for up to 1,000 pieces per month, Standard $10 for 2,500, Pro $20 for 5,000, Premium $40 for 10,000, with a 30-day free trial on paid tiers. Address and resident validation is included even on the free tier.

The caveat is that the developer does not publish per-piece printing and postage pricing on the App Store listing. The tiers cap how many pieces you may send; they do not say what a piece costs. Do not read "$10 per month for 2,500 postcards" as a total. Get a written per-piece quote first.

Two other facts a US merchant should weigh: the developer is based in London and its listed integrations include several UK platforms (dotdigital, Ometria, Patchworks) alongside Bloomreach, HubSpot, and Klaviyo, and the app launched April 10, 2025 with zero reviews, so there is no independent evidence of print quality or delivery performance. Its Shopify data access is the narrowest of the four here that publish one, covering only store owner data and products, but only because recipient data reaches it through Flow rather than the Admin API. Narrow scopes here do not mean the vendor never receives customer data.

Direct Mail Manager

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Direct Mail Manager, showing its plans and key visual

Source: Shopify App Store (Direct Mail Manager), retrieved September 3, 2026

Direct Mail Manager, published by Growmail.com, is the other Flow-connected option and the only one of the two with a US address. It publishes a documented REST API and a PHP SDK, so it is the more programmable of the two Flow-connected options. The listing states the app requires a free account with the developer, so installing on Shopify alone is not enough.

Its pricing gap is the largest in the category. On Shopify you pay $0, $5, or $10 per month for 5, 10, or unlimited campaign slots. On the developer side, Starter is $0 per month with 4x6 postcards at $0.873, and Pro is $199 per month at $0.686. Black-and-white letters are $0.835 and $0.665, color letters $0.995 and $0.805. Whether postage is included is not stated.

One inconsistency is worth catching before signing up: the pricing page recommends Starter for merchants sending fewer than 1,000 mailers per month, while the same page caps Starter at 500 address sends. The site also carries a banner stating legacy platform versions are now disabled following a new release. The app requests edit access to Shopify customers and products without stated justification, declares no Klaviyo integration, and has zero reviews.

IgnitePOST: Handwritten Cards

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for IgnitePOST: Handwritten Cards, showing its rating and key visual

Source: Shopify App Store (IgnitePOST: Handwritten Cards), retrieved September 3, 2026

IgnitePOST: Handwritten Cards is a different product category from the other five, and comparing its per-piece cost to a 4x6 postcard compares two different things. Cards are written by robots with real pen and ink in 12 or more handwriting styles, with a real USPS First Class stamp and no IgnitePOST branding on the card or envelope. Cards default to a Boston, MA postmark, with an option to bulk-ship to the merchant for a local one.

Pricing diverges again. The listing shows a flat $3.99 per card; the developer's page shows prepaid pricing at $1.75 to $4.39 per card plus a subscription model from $109 to $1,744 per month at annual rates, which the App Store omits entirely. That subscription math is worth reading twice, since $109 per month for 300 cards per year lands near the top of the prepaid range rather than below it.

At roughly three to six times the cost of a postcard, this is a narrow-segment tool: VIP customers, first orders above a spend threshold, subscription milestones. One review from whistlekick (US, seven months using the app) reports that customers frequently email to thank them for the note, which is an observable behavior rather than an ROI claim. The caveat is age: 10 reviews, the most recent dated June 16, 2023, so there is no recent evidence of current service quality.

What it costs to fill in the addresses you do not have

If you are mailing people who have bought from you, Shopify already holds their shipping address and none of this applies. If you are mailing subscribers who never bought, or visitors who never identified themselves, you are buying a data service.

ServiceVendorPublished cost
Email to Address AppendPoplar Mail+$0.07 per match
Lookalike ModelingPoplar Mail+$0.07 per address
Site Visitor RetargetingPoplar MailRequires Lite, $249/month
MailMatch™PostPilotRequires Growth Services, $99/month
SiteMatch™PostPilotRequires Pro Services, $419/month billed annually or $499 monthly
AcquisitionAIPostPilotRequires Pro Services
Acquisition AudienceBirdseyePost+$0.20 per piece
SmartMapsBirdseyePost+$0.10 per piece

None of the vendors publishes a match rate, so the effective cost per usable address cannot be calculated from public information. ZAP~POST, Direct Mail Manager, and IgnitePOST have no identity resolution layer; they mail addresses you supply.

Privacy questions to settle before you send

This section describes what vendors publish. It is not legal advice, and CCPA and CPRA obligations depend on your own circumstances.

PostPilot states in its own site footer that it is a data broker under Texas law, and publishes both a "Do not sell or share my personal information" rights-request form and a separate form for opting out of direct mailers. That is a disclosure, not an accusation, but it means consumer address data in the program is commercially sourced. Poplar Mail publishes SOC 2 Type II compliance and Automated Data Subject Request Fulfillment, the clearest DSR-handling statement in the set. BirdseyePost requests the broadest Shopify permissions among the four listings here that publish a data access panel; PostPilot's and IgnitePOST's listings publish none, which is an absence of disclosure rather than an absence of scopes.

Be precise about what none of this establishes: none of the six makes a specific, verifiable CCPA or CPRA compliance claim, and SOC 2 is a security audit rather than a privacy-law certification. Ask each vendor whether it is a registered data broker in any US state, what the source of its consumer address file is, how a recipient opts out of mail specifically, and whether suppression survives a re-upload of your list. Since Shopify has no field to record a mail opt-out, suppression is entirely the vendor's responsibility.

A note on Touchcard

Several third-party roundups and search snippets still list Postcard Marketing - Touchcard at $0.99 per postcard with a large review count. As of September 3, 2026 its App Store URL returns a 404 — Shopify's "Oh no! That page doesn't exist" page — rather than a listing. It is not something you can install, and the price circulating for it is stale. If you found this category through an article that still recommends it, treat the rest of that article's pricing as equally unchecked.

Choosing by scenario

To test the channel with no fixed cost, BirdseyePost has no platform fee and a published $0.65 4x6 with design included, and ZAPPOST's free tier allows up to 1,000 pieces per month. Both come with caveats: BirdseyePost's listing shows no pricing at all, and ZAPPOST publishes no per-piece rate and has zero reviews.

To keep automation inside Shopify Flow, the choice is between ZAP~POST and Direct Mail Manager, the only two of the six declaring Flow on their listings. Direct Mail Manager adds a REST API and PHP SDK and is US-based. Both have zero reviews, so pilot at low volume.

To reach subscribers or anonymous visitors you need a data layer, and the cheapest transparent entry is Poplar Mail's Free tier at $0.07 per match; visitor matching starts at $249 per month with Poplar and $419 with PostPilot. For a managed program, PostPilot has the largest review corpus here and eight years on the App Store, at a $99 per month floor. For letters and multi-page pieces, Poplar Mail publishes the most detailed format list, pricing bifolds, trifolds, and per-extra-page rates individually.

Whichever you shortlist, take the per-piece figure from the developer's pricing page rather than the App Store listing, and ask in writing whether postage is included. Only three of the six say so publicly.

Sources

RelatedShopify pickup points for US stores: no native option, and two separate gates on checkout

Shopify's native pickup points feature is in early access and limited to stores in France, Italy, Spain, and the UK, with only Evri, Colissimo, Correos, Mondial Relay, and Poste Italiane as carriers — US stores are not eligible as of September 2026. Public App Store apps cannot use that native API at all, so a third-party app is the only path, and even then the picker may not reach checkout. Two different requirements cause that: Carrier Service API apps need third-party carrier-calculated shipping (Advanced or Plus, or Grow on annual billing or a paid add-on), while checkout extensibility apps need Shopify Plus. The fallback differs by vendor — Atlas Pickup Points moves selection to the Thank you page from $39/month, Octolize Pickup Points PRO moves it to the cart page from $9.99/month. Atlas is the only one of the three apps here that publishes a per-country carrier list, and its United States page names FedEx, UPS, and DHL, with no USPS. Researched September 3, 2026.