What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
Ask "can I get four levels of navigation if I customize my theme?" and the answer is a clean no.
This isn't a case of themes lagging behind the platform. Shopify's Liquid reference for the linklist object states, of the levels property, "There's a maximum of 3 levels." The theme development docs agree — "You can nest links up to three levels deep" — and publish a worked example with parent, child, and grandchild loops. The data structure itself caps out at three. No amount of theme work gets you past it.
The help center phrases the same fact differently: a top-level item can have up to two levels of nested drop-down menus. Different wording, identical ceiling — top level plus two nested levels equals three.
This article covers what native navigation actually does and doesn't do, where the line for adding an app sits, and how seven real navigation apps compare on the same axes. Researched September 1, 2026; all pricing is the USD figure shown on the Shopify App Store.
The short answer
If none of these apply — you need four or more levels, you want images, badges, or product cards inside the menu, or your top level runs well past seven items — you don't need an app. Native navigation is enough.
If one does apply, here's the split by requirement:
- Track record above all: Globo Mega Menu, Navigation (Built for Shopify, 1,543 reviews, Japanese UI)
- Japanese UI at the lowest cost: ANG Extra menu (Built for Shopify, Japanese UI, paid from $5.99/month)
- Rebuilding mobile navigation including a tab bar: Navi+ Tab Bar & Mega Menu (Built for Shopify, Japanese UI, free up to 20,000 monthly menu views)
- Keep the existing structure, improve only the presentation: Meteor Mega Menu & Navigation ($8/month)
- Countdown timers and sale banners inside the menu: Buddha Mega Menu & Navigation ($9.95/month)
One caveat before any of that: installing an app moves control of your navigation out of the Shopify admin and into the app. Shopify says so itself, which we'll get to.
What native menus genuinely handle
Starting with the roomier parts.
Shopify ships two default menus: main menu and footer menu. Enabling customer accounts adds a third, the customer account main menu.
The footer needs a caveat. Within a single help page, Shopify writes both "Footer menus can display only top-level items. Drop-down menus can't be used in your online store footer." and, under Footer menu integration, "Drop-down menus can also be implemented in footer menus." The official documentation contradicts itself here. Footer nesting can't be stated as settled behavior, so test it on your own theme.
The item ceilings are generous: 10,000 items per menu, 1,000 menus per store. The help center notes that any menu item with sub-items counts as a separate menu against that limit, but in practice you won't reach these numbers.
Every Online Store 2.0 theme supports multilevel navigation. Some older sectioned themes don't handle three or more levels, so if you've added a third level and nothing appears, the theme is worth checking.
The four places native navigation stops
1. There is no fourth level
As above: linklist.levels maxes at three. This is a platform constraint, not a theme constraint, so commissioning theme work won't solve it.
2. Menu items are links, and only links
The eleven available link types are: home page, search, collections, products, pages, blogs, blog posts, policies, customer accounts, external page, and email link (mailto:). Images, banners, badges, product cards, and custom HTML are not on that list. The help center defines menus as links to "products, collections, webpages, blog posts, policies, customer account pages, or other websites."
"I want the new arrivals displayed as images inside the menu" sits outside what native navigation was designed to do.
3. The editor has a 200-change wall
This one is barely known. The help center states plainly: "After you've hit 200 changes, further actions are restricted until you save your menu changes." Adding, editing, deleting, and moving each count as one change.
Restructure a few hundred items in one sitting and you'll be forced to save partway through. You'll hit this editing constraint long before you approach the 10,000-item ceiling.
4. It breaks quietly
Shopify issues three warnings worth internalizing.
First, pasting a URL instead of selecting the resource from the picker can sever the link's connection and produce a 404 or an invalid URL error. This is a common failure mode during a large navigation migration.
Second, deleting a collection or product that a menu links to also deletes the corresponding menu item.
Third, deleting a parent menu item removes its nested items and the drop-down along with it.
Can Shopify Markets serve different menus per market?
No documentation confirming this as a native capability could be found.
Market-level theme customization requires the Advanced plan or higher, and the customizable scope is explicitly limited to section content, block visibility and ordering, and section-level settings. Theme settings — global colors, typography — and Liquid templates are excluded.
A header section's menu selection could plausibly qualify as a section-level setting, but Shopify's documentation contains no explicit statement that menus can be switched per market. If per-market navigation is a firm requirement, choosing an app that names the capability outright is the safer path.
What actually changes when you install an app
This is the most consequential part of the decision. Shopify's own help center says, in substance:
Mega menu apps create menus inside the app rather than in the admin's menu settings. If you're using one, returning to native navigation requires updating the app's settings or uninstalling it.
Installing an app moves ownership of your menu data from the Shopify admin to the app. Your Shopify menu stays at three levels; the app maintains its own menu data and replaces what the theme renders. So "the app removes Shopify's three-level limit" is the wrong mental model — "you stop using Shopify's menu" is closer to the truth.
Which makes uninstall behavior matter. Shopify's Built for Shopify requirement 3.2.1 states that apps for the online store must be implemented with theme app extensions, and that when merchants uninstall, the app's blocks are automatically and entirely removed from the theme. Apps carrying the badge are held to this. Apps without it need to be checked individually.
A concrete example: Meteor Mega Menu & Navigation's developer has published that menus installed before August 22, 2023 leave code in the theme, along with a removal procedure — delete two includes from layout/theme.liquid, then delete five files. Menus created on or after that date use theme app extensions and leave nothing behind. The longer a store has been running, the more this history is worth checking.
Seven navigation apps compared
As of September 1, 2026, the Shopify App Store's "Navigation and menus" category lists 149 apps. These seven are the ones where review volume, a Built for Shopify badge, or Japanese language support gives a defensible reason for inclusion.
| App | Developer | Rating (reviews) | BFS | Free plan | Cheapest paid | Japanese UI | Per-market menus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Globo Mega Menu, Navigation | Globo.io (Vietnam) | 4.9 (1,543) | Yes | Yes (no watermark) | $12.90/mo ($129/yr) | Yes | Pro ($17.90/mo) |
| Qikify Mega Menu & Navigation | Qikify Design (Vietnam) | 4.9 (1,007) | No | Yes (watermarked) | $9.99/mo ($19.99 on Plus) | No | Not confirmed |
| Buddha Mega Menu & Navigation | Buddha Apps / Zero Carbon SRL (Romania) | 4.8 (554) | No | Yes (no watermark, 5 collections, 5 products) | $9.95/mo ($95.52/yr) | No | Not stated |
| Meteor Mega Menu & Navigation | Helium (US) | 4.7 (328) | No | Yes (2 desktop + 2 mobile templates only) | $8/mo (no annual) | No | Listed as multi-region |
| ANG Extra menu | Nx8Apps (Vietnam) | 5.0 (68) | Yes | Yes (breadcrumbs included) | $5.99/mo ($59.90/yr) | Yes | Premium and above |
| Navi+ Tab Bar & Mega Menu | Navi+ / briapp (Vietnam) | 5.0 (26) | Yes | Yes (20k menu views, 1 menu) | $6.25/mo ($62.50/yr) | Yes | Not stated |
| Sumaho Navigation / Riteria Navigation | Riteria Inc. (Tokyo) | 0.0 (0) | No | No (trial only) | $4.99/mo | Yes (Japanese only) | N/A |
Three things stand out from that table.
First, "has a free plan" means something different in every row. Qikify's free tier applies a watermark — its paid Basic plan lists "Remove watermark" as a feature — so you can evaluate but not ship on it. Buddha doesn't watermark but caps you at five collections and five products. Navi+ meters by traffic: 20,000 menu views and one menu. Meteor gives you two desktop and two mobile templates, and no images. Globo and ANG, by contrast, let you run in production on the free tier with no watermark and essentially no quantity cap. That distinction matters more than the monthly price.
Second, the Built for Shopify badge and the star rating aren't correlated. The three badge holders are Globo (4.9), ANG (5.0), and Navi+ (5.0). The second- and third-largest review bases — Qikify at 4.9 across 1,007 reviews and Buddha at 4.8 across 554 — have no badge. The badge attests to meeting performance, design, and integration requirements. It is not a satisfaction ranking.
Third, only four of the seven offer a Japanese admin UI: Globo, ANG, Navi+, and Riteria. But Riteria is a bottom navigation bar tool with no mega menu capability. For building a mega menu in Japanese, the real shortlist is three.
What to look at app by app
Globo Mega Menu, Navigation
Launched August 11, 2017; 1,543 reviews; Built for Shopify. The free plan covers mega menus, drop-downs, product insertion, custom images, and mobile menus with no watermark. Growth ($12.90/month) adds unlimited published menus, multi-language menus, and menu click analytics. Pro ($17.90/month) adds per-market menus for Shopify Markets, separate desktop and mobile menus, custom HTML, and a mobile bottom navigation bar. Seven-day free trial.
The admin supports ten languages including Japanese. It installs via App Embed, and the developer's documentation confirms that switching the App Embed off restores the theme's own menu.
Worth knowing: an August 24, 2026 review reports having to contact support every time the menu width needs changing, and asks for independent width control on first- and second-level categories. If you intend to fine-tune layout yourself, test that during the trial.
ANG Extra menu
Launched October 25, 2022; 68 reviews; Built for Shopify. The free plan is unusually generous — mega menus, tree and drop-down layouts, product insertion, image menus, animations, mobile menus, and breadcrumbs derived from the menu, all free. Paid features start at tabbed menus, custom HTML, contact forms, multi-language, and multiple menus and markets: Premium at $5.99/month, VIP at $7.99/month. Fourteen-day free trial.
It's the cheapest paid tier in this comparison while still offering a Japanese UI and the Built for Shopify badge. The 68-review base is small, though, and shouldn't be weighed the same as Globo's 1,543.
Navi+ Tab Bar & Mega Menu
The pricing model is structurally different from everyone else's. The free Starter plan doesn't restrict features — it's capped at 20,000 monthly menu views and one menu. Paid tiers are Business at $6.25/month ($62.50/year; up to 4 menus, 500,000 views, multi-language menus) and Elite at $15/month ($150/year; unlimited menus and views, migration included), plus Navi+ Care at $39/month ($390/year) for managed menu operations. Business and Elite both include a 14-day free trial.
It covers tab bars (bottom navigation), drawer menus, and floating buttons, which suits stores with heavy mobile traffic. Japanese UI, Built for Shopify. With 26 reviews, the 5.0 rating alone isn't much to go on.
One naming note: as of September 1, 2026, both the detail page and the category listing display "Navi+ Tab Bar & Mega Menu." It has also been listed as "Navi+ AI Menu Builder" in the past, so third-party articles use both names — worth knowing when searching. The developer displays as "Navi+," partner handle briapp.
Qikify Mega Menu & Navigation
1,007 reviews is a solid track record, but two things shape the decision: the free plan is watermarked, and the admin is English only. Paid tiers are Basic at $9.99/month and Premium at $19.99/month — and both cost more on Shopify Plus ($19.99 and $29.99 respectively). Qikify is the only app here that publishes a Plus surcharge.
A July 13, 2026 review reports Safari compatibility problems, menu flicker on initial page load, menus disappearing during scroll, and slow support response. The developer's published reply attributes the delay to time zone differences and apologizes.
Installation requires enabling App embeds on the live theme, then replacing the existing menu via one of three methods: auto-detection, specifying a Shopify menu, or a CSS selector. The developer's documentation states that replacing a single item within a menu isn't possible — only whole-menu replacement.
Buddha Mega Menu & Navigation
Launched August 19, 2016. Pricing is two tiers only — Free and Mega Zen ($9.95/month, $95.52/year) — with nothing in between. The free plan limits submenus to Tree (flyout) and Simple, caps featured collections at five and featured products at five. Images, add-to-cart buttons, video embeds, badges, sale banners, countdowns, and one-click translation are all paid.
It fits when you want promotional elements in the menu. There's no Japanese UI and no statement about per-market menus. Note also that the installation method — whether it uses a theme app extension — could not be confirmed in the developer's documentation. Without a Built for Shopify badge, requirement 3.2.1 doesn't apply, so confirming uninstall residue with the developer beforehand is advisable.
Meteor Mega Menu & Navigation
Launched April 20, 2015 — the oldest app here. It reads your existing Shopify navigation settings, which means the menu structure stays bound to the native three-level limit. It's a tool for improving how an existing structure looks, not for extending it.
The free plan gives two desktop and two mobile templates. Images in menus require Pro ($8/month); the CSS editor is Premium only ($14/month). No annual pricing is offered.
As covered above, menus installed before August 22, 2023 leave code in the theme. A June 10, 2026 review also describes mobile customization as too rigid.
Sumaho Navigation / Riteria Navigation
Built by Riteria Inc. (Setagaya, Tokyo), this one focuses solely on a bottom navigation bar. Single plan at $4.99/month, free in full on development stores. It's Online Store 2.0 only, and the data access it requests is limited to "Online Store: theme."
For a Japanese-language UI and nothing more than a bottom nav, it's the most direct option — but it has no mega menu capability. It also carries zero reviews as of September 1, 2026, so there's no evidence base on reliability or common issues. Use the seven-day trial to confirm it works with your theme before committing.
Pre-install checklist
- Do you truly need four levels, or can the category design collapse into three?
- Is what you need in the menu a link, or an image or product card? If it's links, native is enough.
- Is your top level seven items or fewer (Shopify's own recommendation)?
- Does the free plan apply a watermark? Is it a free plan you can actually ship on?
- Is the free plan limited by feature, by quantity, or by page views? Which ceiling will your store hit first?
- If you're on Shopify Plus, does the app charge more?
- Which tier unlocks per-market and per-device menu switching?
- Is it built on a theme app extension? Will anything remain after uninstall?
- Record your current menu structure before installing — ownership of that data moves to the app.
- Do you plan to switch published themes? Apps aren't active by default on a new theme.
Where this leaves you
Work the decision in this order.
Accept first that the three-level ceiling is a platform constraint. With linklist.levels capped at three in Liquid, "customize the theme" isn't an available option.
Then separate two different wants: adding depth, versus adding visual richness and information density. If it's the latter, you may be able to keep the existing depth and simply surface images or product cards.
From there, understand that installing an app is a decision to hand navigation ownership to that app. When Shopify itself writes that returning to native navigation requires updating app settings or uninstalling, that's a structural change, not a bolt-on.
Finally, narrow to two candidates and test them on the free plan or free trial. The three things worth checking specifically: watermarks, mobile rendering, and compatibility with your theme.
All pricing, ratings, and review counts in this article were confirmed on each app's Shopify App Store page on September 1, 2026. App Store pricing changes without notice — check the current listing before you install.
Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.