What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
When a merchant asks "how do I turn my Shopify store into an app?", the first thing everyone compares is the monthly price. That is understandable — the range runs from $99 to $1,499, more than a 10x spread.
But there is a prerequisite you should check before you open any pricing table: whether your business is a registered legal entity.
Tapcart, one of the best-known mobile app builders, states plainly in its own help documentation that if you are registered as a sole proprietor or individual owner, you cannot create a mobile app on any third-party platform, including Tapcart. That is not a Tapcart policy quirk. It is a structural constraint that flows from Apple's App Store Review Guideline 4.2.6.
This article first pins down what Shopify's built-in Shop channel can and cannot do, then compares 8 real mobile app builders on the same axes: price, billing model, reviews, language support, and whose name the app is published under. Researched September 1, 2026; all prices are the USD figures shown on the Shopify App Store.
The short version
If you don't need push notifications, you don't need an app builder. The Shop channel is free, and it comes with exposure inside the Shop app, Shop Pay, order tracking, and agentic shopping surfaces such as the Shop App for ChatGPT — all without extra work.
If you want a custom buying experience but only inside the Shop app, look at Shop Minis. You can build one yourself with the React SDK, with no Apple or Google developer account enrollment and no annual fees.
You need an app builder only when you want to send push notifications to your own customers, on your own schedule, in your own words. This is the one thing Shopify's built-in tooling structurally cannot replace. The Shopify Help Center states that with the Shop app you can't access information about products that customers have saved, and you can't customize the notifications that customers receive.
With that established, here are the candidates by situation:
- Start cheap / need a non-English admin UI: OneMobile (free plan available, holds Built for Shopify, and the only one of the 8 with a Japanese UI — though native app delivery is listed as a feature of the $99 plan and above)
- Want to stay in the $99–$249 band with annual prepay: MageNative‑Mobile App Builder (but unlimited push notifications only start at the $249 plan)
- Want hands-on help through launch and review: Shopney ‑ Mobile App Builder (719 reviews with zero 1-star ratings)
- Want live shopping: Superfans ‑ Mobile App Builder (formerly Vajro)
- Need A/B testing, multi-region apps, SLAs, or SOC 2: Tapcart (from $500 — but a legal entity is a prerequisite)
- Want app ownership and transfer terms written into a contract: MobiLoud (from $1,499/month, contracted directly outside the Shopify App Store)
One naming note: "Vajro" still appears in a lot of older comparison posts, but as of September 1, 2026 it is the former name. The official name is now Superfans ‑ Mobile App Builder (the App Store handle is still vajro).
How far Shopify's built-in tooling gets you
The Shop channel is not "your app"
Start here. The Shop channel lists your store inside Shop, the shared shopping app Shopify operates. It does not put your icon and your app name on the App Store or Google Play.
What the Shop channel gives you:
- A store listing inside the Shop app, homepage sync, and control over which products and collections appear
- Shop Pay, Shop Cash, Shop Pay Installments
- Order tracking (Track with Shop)
- Shop Campaigns, Shop product reviews, Sign in with Shop
- Shop channel analytics
- Exposure through agents, including the Shop App for ChatGPT, with no extra setup
That is a lot for free, and it genuinely covers a large share of what merchants mean when they say "I want a better mobile buying experience."
What the Shop channel can't do
| Not possible | Why |
|---|---|
| List an app under your own brand icon and name | Shop is a shared app |
| Send your own push notifications | You can't access customers' saved products, and you can't customize the notifications they receive |
| Opt out of appearing in Shop search results | Opt-out is not available |
| Choose whether your products appear in Shop Minis | No selection and no opt-out |
| Display in Japanese | Japanese is not among the 15 languages Shop supports — relevant if you sell into Japan |
| Use conversational search | US and Canada only — available to you as a US merchant, but not on international storefronts |
Shopify also states that it reserves the right to remove merchants or products from Shop at any time, for any reason. The safe framing is that the Shop channel is distribution you rent, not an asset you own.
Separately, Shop Minis — interactive experiences that live inside the Shop app — can be built with the React SDK or through a Shopify Partner. No Apple or Google developer enrollment, no annual fees. It is a useful middle ground when you want app-like experience without the app-publishing paperwork.
Three requirements to check before the pricing table
The "Mobile app builder" category on the Shopify App Store lists 104 apps. But whichever one you pick, you still have to clear Apple's and Google's requirements to actually ship. For a US merchant operating as a sole proprietorship, this is the biggest hurdle in the whole project — bigger than price.
Requirement 1: App Store Review Guideline 4.2.6
Apple's guideline 4.2.6 reads:
Apps created from a commercialized template or app generation service will be rejected unless they are submitted directly by the provider of the app's content.
So when an app builder insists on a developer account in the merchant's name, that is not vendor preference — it is what Apple requires to approve the app. The practical consequence: the seller name shown on your App Store listing is your own legal entity name, not the vendor's.
Related, guideline 4.2 (Minimum Functionality) says your app should include features, content, and UI that elevate it beyond a repackaged website. An app that is just your site in a wrapper is rejectable under that clause.
Requirement 2: Apple Developer Program organization enrollment
Apple Developer Program membership costs 99 USD per year. Apple states that prices may vary by region and are shown in local currency during enrollment.
To enroll as an organization you need:
- A legal entity (DBAs, trade names, fictitious business names, and branches are not accepted)
- A D-U-N-S number
- Legal authority to bind the organization
- A work email address tied to your organization's domain (free email addresses are not expected)
- A public, working company website
The D-U-N-S number is a nine-digit identifier issued by Dun & Bradstreet. It takes up to 5 business days to obtain, plus up to 2 more business days for D&B to propagate it to Apple. It is required for companies and educational institutions (optional for government entities), and not required if you enroll as an individual.
And again: with organization enrollment, the seller name on the App Store is your legal entity name as registered. Per Apple's help documentation the organization name can be changed, but it requires a request and supporting documents, and changing it updates the vendor name across all your apps and resets identifierForVendor (IDFV) for existing users. That change cannot be undone. In practice, decide on the exact legal-name spelling you want customers to see before you start.
Requirement 3: Google Play Console and the "12 testers × 14 days" rule
Google Play Console registration is a one-time 25 USD fee (prepaid cards are not accepted). If you create an organization account, a D-U-N-S number is required there too.
The operationally important part is Google's production access requirement. The rule that at least 12 testers must opt in for 14 consecutive days applies only to personal accounts created on or after November 13, 2023. Organization accounts are exempt.
In other words, if you incorporate, get a D-U-N-S number, and enroll with organization accounts on both Apple and Google, the 12-testers-for-14-days requirement never applies to you. The same path that unblocks Apple also sidesteps Google's testing gate.
For timeline planning, Shopney's documentation puts developer account approval at typically 2–7 days, Apple review at typically 1–2 business days, and Google at up to a week.
Comparing 8 mobile app builders
All figures reflect Shopify App Store listings as of September 1, 2026. Amounts in USD.
| App | Rating / reviews | BFS | Lowest monthly | Highest monthly | Revenue or usage fees | Japanese UI | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tapcart ‑ Mobile App Builder | 4.7 / 314 | No | $500 | $2,850 | Not stated | ✗ | 7 days |
| Superfans ‑ Mobile App Builder | 4.9 / 879 | No | $150 | $1,000 | Not stated | ✗ | 30 days |
| Shopney ‑ Mobile App Builder | 5.0 / 719 | No | $149 | $1,299 | Not stated | ✗ | 30 days |
| MageNative‑Mobile App Builder | 4.8 / 325 | No | $99 | $249 | Not stated | ✗ | 30 days |
| Appbrew ‑ Mobile App Builder | 5.0 / 67 | No | from $199 | from $1,099 | Yes (terms undisclosed) | ✗ | 30 days |
| OneMobile | 4.8 / 353 | Yes | $0 (FREE) | $990 | 1.2–2.9% on revenue above the threshold | ✓ | 14 days |
| Mobile App Builder ‑ AppMaker | 4.9 / 33 | No | $1,000 | $2,000 | 1% of in-app revenue | ✗ | 14 days |
| MobiLoud (direct contract, outside the App Store) | 5.0 / 1 | N/A | $1,499 | Custom quote | No revenue share | Not confirmed | — |
Three things stand out.
First, the two apps with the most reviews — Superfans (879) and Shopney (719) — do not carry the Built for Shopify badge. Neither do Tapcart, MageNative, Appbrew, or AppMaker. Of the 8, only OneMobile (353 reviews) holds it. Meanwhile, across the wider category the badge clusters on apps with far fewer reviews: Ego, appYantra, SimiCart, MageComp, NAPPS, Hulk. In this category, treating the badge as a proxy for quality or track record does not hold up.
Second, there are effectively five billing models, not one. There is apparent flat monthly pricing (listings with no stated revenue fee); AppMaker's explicit 1% of in-app revenue; OneMobile's tiered percentage that applies only above a revenue threshold; MobiLoud's MAU pricing (unique devices that opened the app in a 30-day window) with an explicit statement that there is no revenue share; and Appbrew's "additional fees based on app performance" with no published formula. Comparing all of these as "monthly price" leads to the wrong decision.
Note carefully: where the revenue-fee column says "Not stated," that does not mean we confirmed there is no fee. It means the App Store listing does not mention one. You need to confirm this directly with each vendor before signing.
Third, none of the 8 advertises direct support in Japanese. OneMobile is the only one with a Japanese UI, and even its Japanese-language App Store listing states that the developer does not offer direct support in Japanese. The other seven do not list Japanese among their supported languages, and we could not confirm that any of them provides Japanese support. This matters as a localization signal if you plan to expand outside English-speaking markets: the vendors are based in the US, India, Vietnam, and the UK, so support coverage outside their home time zones is structurally thin.
App-by-app notes
OneMobile
Good fit if: you want to start cheap, you need a non-English admin UI internally, or app-driven revenue is still an unknown.
Listed on the Shopify App Store as モバイルアプリビルダー‑OneMobile, built by FireGroup (FIREAPPS JSC, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam). Launched February 27, 2023, and the only app in this comparison holding the Built for Shopify badge. Its supported languages include Japanese, and it explicitly supports Checkout, Customer Accounts, and Shopify Flow.
Pricing: FREE; SCALE•UP $99 (first $2,000 of mobile revenue fee-free, 2.9% infrastructure fee above that); BRAND•UP $299 (free up to $10,000, 1.9% above); OMNI $990 (free up to $100,000, 1.2% above). The 14-day free trial applies to SCALE•UP and BRAND•UP.
Three cautions. First, what the FREE plan actually is. Its listed features are AI app generation, brand color settings, in-app wishlist, app submission content (one time), and email support — native iOS/Android app delivery is listed as a SCALE•UP-and-above feature. Whether you can publish an app on FREE alone cannot be determined from the listing, so confirm the scope of "try it free" before you commit.
Second, OneMobile markets publishing under its own developer account. The App Store description says you can publish your app to the App Store and Google Play using their developer account, risk-free. Which plans that applies to, whose name appears on the listing in that case, and what the terms are for transferring to your own account could not be confirmed from public sources. Confirm this before you sign — under Guideline 4.2.6 it is the single most consequential detail.
Third, there is a history of price changes and inconsistent fee wording. A review dated August 24, 2026 says that going from $29 to $99 per month, with per-order fees and infrastructure fees added on top, is crazy. That is a single review and cannot be generalized, but percentage-based billing does mean your cost moves as you grow.
Also worth flagging: the same App Store listing describes the fee differently by language. The English version says a 2.9% infrastructure fee applies only to revenue above the threshold, while the Japanese version says a 2.9% fee applies per order. Which reflects the actual contract terms cannot be determined from the listing, so get the calculation method in writing before signing.
Shopney ‑ Mobile App Builder
Good fit if: this is your first app launch and you want someone walking you through review and submission.
Based in Delaware, US; launched July 5, 2019. Rated 5.0 across 719 reviews, with zero 1-star ratings (703 five-star, 10 four-star, 5 three-star, 1 two-star). Plans are Silver $149, Gold $299, Platinum $599 (AR, barcode, live shopping), and Enterprise $1,299, all with a 30-day free trial.
Shopney's documentation calls creating a developer account a mandatory step, and states that they handle the submission process using the admin access you grant them, and that throughout, you retain full rights and control over your account. It is one of the few vendors that puts ownership and rights in writing.
That said, several of the most recent listed reviews come from merchants who had used the app for "about 2 hours" or "3 days," and the content is mostly thanks directed at an individual support rep. Read the 5.0 with the possibility that it skews toward the onboarding experience rather than long-run operation. Supported languages are English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese (Brazil), and Italian — no Japanese.
Superfans ‑ Mobile App Builder (formerly Vajro)
Good fit if: you want to livestream to the app and Facebook simultaneously, or you care about the breadth of third-party app integrations.
Based in Irving, Texas; launched April 12, 2018. Its 879 reviews are the most in this comparison. Two plans: Starter $150 and Unlimited $1,000 ($10,000/year, a 17% discount), with a 30-day free trial. Checkout integration is explicitly supported.
On the other side, the 12 one-star reviews share recurring themes: that they advertise a starting price of $100 but it automatically jumps to $500 per month once you hit a certain order count (February 13, 2025, Egypt); that they control the app design so the merchant can't update it themselves, and once the app is live it's a trap that's hard to get out of (January 19, 2026, US); and that you can't publish an app with a personal account and the team can't explain why (December 23, 2025, UAE).
Each of these is a single review and cannot be taken as generalized fact. But we could not find official terms or thresholds for automatic plan changes tied to order volume in any primary source. It is worth logging as a question to raise before signing.
Tapcart ‑ Mobile App Builder
Good fit if: you need A/B testing, separate apps for multiple regions, or contractual requirements like SLAs and SOC 2.
Based in Santa Monica, US; launched April 11, 2017. Plans are GROWTH $500, SCALE $1,250, and ENTERPRISE+ $2,850 (dedicated account manager, Slack integration, 99.99% SLA, SOC 2). The free trial is 7 days.
As noted at the top, Tapcart's documentation states that sole proprietors cannot create an app. If you operate as a sole proprietorship, that is an eligibility question that comes before price — and in the US, plenty of successful Shopify stores are still sole proprietorships.
One more thing to watch: the plan names in Tapcart Academy (Core / Ultimate / Enterprise) do not match the App Store listing (GROWTH / SCALE / ENTERPRISE+). Use the App Store listing for pricing and the Academy documentation for requirements.
Among the 9 one-star reviews is one stating that they won't let the merchant cancel a $1,000-per-month cost, and that they went through five different account reps in one year (November 10, 2025, US).
MageNative‑Mobile App Builder
Good fit if: you need to stay in the $99–$249 band.
Based in Lucknow, India; launched September 1, 2017. Starter $99 ($1,069.20/year, 10% off), Standard $149 ($1,519.80/year, 15% off), Premium $249 ($2,539.80/year, 15% off, with unlimited push, AR, and Shop Pay integration).
The big trap is that the $99 plan lists push notifications as "5." The App Store listing does not state the counting period, so whether that is per month or total needs confirming. Unlimited push notifications are listed as a Premium feature. Given that push is usually the single reason to build an app at all, the realistic entry price here is $249, not $99.
MobiLoud
Good fit if: you want ownership, transfer terms, and price-increase clauses spelled out in a contract.
UK-based. What appears on the Shopify App Store is a single push-notification automation app; the builder itself is a direct contract outside the App Store. Pricing is Business $1,499/month ($1,274/month billed annually, 15% off) plus a one-time setup fee (amount undisclosed). That includes up to 10,000 MAU, with overage at $50 per 1,000 MAU. Enterprise is by quote.
MobiLoud is the only vendor in this research that documents post-cancellation treatment publicly. It states that your app is published under your own Apple and Google developer accounts, so the listing, ratings, and install base are yours, and that it returns an export of your app configuration and native build settings within 30 days of contract termination. It also states plainly that there is no revenue share on any plan, at any volume.
Push notifications run through your own OneSignal account, and OneSignal charges separately above 1,000 MAU.
Reading the break-even points
To compare apps with different billing models you have to treat app-driven monthly revenue as the variable. Here are the crossover points computed mechanically from published rates.
| Comparison | Approximate monthly revenue where it flips |
|---|---|
| OneMobile SCALE•UP $99+2.9% vs Shopney Silver $149 | about $3,700 |
| OneMobile BRAND•UP $299+1.9% vs Shopney Platinum $599 | about $25,800 |
| AppMaker Pro $1,000+1% vs Tapcart SCALE $1,250 | about $25,000 |
| AppMaker Pro $1,000+1% vs Tapcart ENTERPRISE+ $2,850 | about $185,000 |
For example, at $50,000 in app-driven monthly revenue, OneMobile BRAND•UP costs $299 + ($40,000 × 1.9%) = $1,059/month, which exceeds both Shopney Platinum at $599 and Superfans Unlimited at $1,000. The plan with the cheapest entry price is not necessarily the cheapest plan after you grow.
There is real uncertainty baked into this math, though. We could not confirm from public sources whether AppMaker's "in-app revenue" and OneMobile's "mobile revenue" mean GMV or net revenue, or whether returns are deducted. If you are considering a percentage-based plan, nailing down that definition with the vendor is the actual starting point of any cost estimate.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Do you actually need push notifications? If not, the Shop channel is enough. If you only need experience inside Shop, Shop Minis is an option
- Is your business a registered legal entity? If you are a sole proprietor, Tapcart is officially off the table. And if you enroll with Apple as an individual, your personal legal name is what appears as the seller
- Have you started the D-U-N-S application? Up to 5 business days, plus up to 2 more for Apple to see it
- Have you settled on the exact legal-name spelling for the App Store? Changing it later requires a request and documents to Apple, cannot be undone, and resets IDFV for existing users
- Have you asked each vendor directly whether there is a revenue fee? "Not stated on the App Store" does not mean "there is none"
- For percentage-based plans, have you confirmed the revenue definition (GMV or net, returns deducted or not)?
- Have you confirmed in writing what happens to the app if you cancel? MobiLoud is the only vendor that documents this, and Shopney is the only one that puts rights retention in writing
- Can you edit the design yourself? If the vendor holds editing rights, every update becomes a support ticket
- Do you have someone who will keep updating the app? Launch is not the finish line
- Is non-English support a hard requirement? Within the published information for these 8 apps, we found none offering direct support in Japanese — a useful signal for how well any of them will serve you outside English-speaking markets
Conclusion
The decision order looks like this:
- If you don't need push notifications, don't evaluate app builders at all. The Shop channel is free and its built-in scope keeps expanding
- If you do need them, check legal entity and D-U-N-S before you check pricing. Fail here and no app on this list can get you published
- Compare total cost as "app-driven monthly revenue × 12 months," not monthly price. Percentage-based and flat-rate plans swap rank as you grow
- Before signing, get five things in writing: whose name the app is published under, cancellation terms, design editing rights, data portability, and price-increase clauses. In this research, no vendor let us confirm all five from public information alone
Pricing, ratings, and features change. Every figure in this article was verified against the Shopify App Store and each vendor's official documentation as of September 1, 2026. Check the current listings before you commit.
Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.