Skip to main content
Store operations and content

Shopify Protect Is Free — And Six Ordinary Things You Do Every Day Silently Void It

Shopify Protect reimburses fraud chargebacks at no cost, but the Help Center lists a stack of conditions that most merchants never read. One digital item in the cart voids the order. Fixing a customer's shipping address after checkout voids it. Shipping with a carrier outside the supported list of 13 voids it. Shop Pay Installments is excluded. Subscriptions are covered on the first order only. And if you're on Basic without Shopify Payments, fraud analysis gives you indicators but no risk recommendation at all. Here is the exact boundary, plus three fraud apps compared on the same axes. Researched September 1, 2026.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Updated Read 13 min#Shopify blog operations#App comparisons#For beginners

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

Shopify Protect is genuinely good: free chargeback reimbursement on eligible fraud disputes, with the dispute process handled for you. That is not marketing copy — it is what the Help Center says.

The problem is the word "eligible." Read the eligibility section and you find a stack of conditions layered on top of each other. Several of them are voided by routine operations: a customer emails asking you to correct their street address, a bundle includes a downloadable guide, a warehouse ships with a regional carrier. None of those feel like fraud-policy decisions. All of them remove the order from coverage.

Below: every condition, sourced to the Help Center; the plan gap in Shopify's fraud analysis that nobody discusses; what a chargeback actually costs; and three fraud apps compared on identical axes. Research date: September 1, 2026.

The short version

You must be located in the US, with a US Shopify Payments account. Not "sell to the US" — be located there. Non-US merchants are out at the first gate, regardless of plan.

One digital item voids the whole order. So does one buy-online-pickup-in-store item. The Help Center says this explicitly, and adds that shipped physical items in the same order don't rescue it.

Editing a shipping address after checkout voids coverage. This is the condition most likely to bite you, because correcting a customer's typo is normal support work, not a risk decision.

On Basic without Shopify Payments, you get indicators but no fraud recommendation. The low/medium/high risk label is not universal. This is a real plan boundary and it is barely covered anywhere.

Winning a dispute does not remove it from your chargeback rate. The rate counts disputes filed, not disputes lost. Prevention is the only lever that moves it.

Every Shopify Protect condition, from the Help Center

Location and payments account

To protect your orders with Shopify Protect, you must be located in the United States and have a United States Shopify Payments account.

Both clauses are required. A US-facing store operated from elsewhere, or a US store on a third-party gateway, does not qualify.

Shop Pay only — but not Shop Pay Installments

Coverage applies to orders processed through Shop Pay, including Shop Pay used as an accelerated checkout on Facebook, Instagram, or Google. Shop Pay Installments orders are not eligible. Same brand, different eligibility.

Separately, Managed Markets orders processed with Shopify Payments are automatically protected.

Physical items exclusively

Shopify Protect only protects orders that exclusively contain physical items requiring shipping. Orders that include any digital products, or any products bought online and picked up in-store, aren't protected, even if the order also contains shipped physical items.

If you sell a physical product with a downloadable companion — a PDF guide, a license key, a digital pattern — every order containing both falls outside coverage. Same for BOPIS lines.

Subscriptions: first order only

Shopify Protect analyzes the initial subscription order. Subsequent recurring orders do not receive coverage. For a subscription-first business, this is coverage on month one and nothing after.

Fulfillment status

Only orders where all non-refunded line items are in a Fulfilled status are protected. Partial fulfillment leaves the order outside coverage.

7 days to fulfill, 10 days to be in transit

Orders must be fulfilled with valid tracking within 7 days of being placed, and marked in transit by the carrier within 10 days. The Help Center adds that tracking added after the fulfillment deadline does not qualify the order retroactively.

Made-to-order, pre-order, and drop-ship models with longer lead times will routinely miss this window.

Address changes void coverage

Changing the shipping address on an order after checkout voids the Shopify Protect coverage for that order.

There is no exception for corrections you make at the customer's request.

13 supported carriers, and every line item must use one

If any item in the order ships with an unsupported carrier, the whole order is unprotected. The supported list:

Shopify Fulfillment Network (SFN), USPS, UPS, Canada Post, DHL Express, FedEx, TForce Final Mile, Lone Star Overnight, United Delivery Service, CDL Last Mile, Lasership, GLS, Ontrac.

Notably absent: regional last-mile carriers outside this list, and every non-North-American carrier. Split shipments across a supported and an unsupported carrier lose coverage entirely.

Which chargeback reasons are covered

Fraudulent and unrecognized reason codes only. Item not received, product unacceptable, subscription canceled, duplicate, credit not processed, and general disputes are not covered — and those categories are where a large share of real disputes live.

The plan gap in fraud analysis

Separate from Protect, Shopify's fraud analysis itself is not identical across plans.

On the Basic plan without Shopify Payments, fraud analysis includes:

  • indicators
  • support for third-party fraud apps

On the Grow plan or higher, or on any plan with Shopify Payments, it also includes:

  • fraud recommendations

Indicators and recommendations are not the same thing. Indicators are raw signals — AVS result, CVV match, IP details, whether multiple cards were attempted. The Help Center is blunt about their limits: indicators "don't show you how likely it is that an order is fraudulent." The low/medium/high label comes from the recommendation.

So a Basic-plan store on an external gateway is reading raw signals manually, with no risk score, on every order. That is a meaningfully different operating reality from what most "Shopify catches fraud automatically" write-ups imply.

What Fraud Control actually is

Shopify ships a free first-party app called Fraud Control. It's available on all plans in countries where Shopify Payments is available — but parts of it need Shopify Payments to function.

Without Shopify Payments, the dashboard shows only three metrics: acceptance rate, high-risk orders, and orders canceled due to fraud. Chargeback metrics and chargeback health are unavailable.

Fraud Control checkout rules are Shopify Payments only. Those rules — filters on email, address attributes, and IP — block checkouts before they become orders. External-gateway stores can't use them.

The Help Center carries an unusually direct caution:

The Fraud Control app doesn't guarantee coverage against chargebacks. It provides insight into potential fraud, but doesn't actively protect against it.

As of September 1, 2026, the app's Shopify App Store rating is 2.2 from 21 reviews. The negative reviews cluster around rules not firing, an inability to block medium-risk orders, and the observation that much of the automation is Shopify Flow templates.

That last point is structural rather than a complaint: the free Fraud Filter app was retired, and the automation layer moved to Flow. Multiple app vendors date the sunset to January 31, 2025 and note that existing rules had to be rebuilt in Flow. As of September 1, 2026, Fraud Control is the only Shopify-published app listed in the App Store's fraud category.

Chargeback health thresholds in Fraud Control, per the Help Center: under 0.4% is Good standing, 0.4–0.6% is At risk, above 0.6% is Elevated risk.

What a chargeback costs

The Help Center's country fee table lists $15 USD for the United States. For comparison: £10 in the UK, €15 across most of the EU, A$25 in Australia, ¥1,300 in Japan.

The fee and the disputed amount are debited immediately. Win, and both come back. Two things to understand about that:

Timing. The evidence window is typically 7–21 days, and card company review can take up to 75 days after submission. Funds are tied up for roughly a quarter.

Rate. Per the Help Center, winning a dispute does not remove it from your chargeback rate — the rate is based on disputes filed, not outcomes. A perfect win record leaves your rate untouched. And an elevated rate can affect your Shopify Payments account status and eligibility for features like the Shop app.

Which means: dispute-win optimization protects revenue but not standing. Only stopping the order protects both.

Three fraud apps, same axes

All figures from the Shopify App Store as of September 1, 2026.

Fraud ControlBeacon Fraud ProtectionBlockify Fraud Filter, BlockerChargeflow
PublisherShopifyLizuna KK (Tokyo, JP)Blockify (Hanoi, VN)Chargeflow, Inc. (Delaware, US)
Layer it defendsVisibility + checkout rulesOrder-level detectionVisitor / IP / countryPost-chargeback recovery
Rating2.2 (21)4.6 (13)4.9 (1,579)4.7 (368)
Built for ShopifyNoYesYesNo
PricingFree$0.03/order, or $125/mo + $0.025/orderFree – $39.99/moFree install + performance fees
Free trial14 days3 days (paid plans)
Needs Shopify PaymentsFor checkout rulesNot statedNot statedWorks with all providers

Three things the table makes visible.

These apps are not substitutes for each other. Blockify stops traffic before it becomes an order. Beacon evaluates orders that already exist. Chargeflow works on disputes that already happened. Choosing between them is a category error — the real question is which layer of yours is thinnest.

Review volume reflects install friction, not quality. Blockify's 1,579 reviews versus Beacon's 13 is roughly 120x, and Blockify has a free tier built around country and IP blocking — the lowest-commitment thing in this category. Read Beacon's 4.6 as thirteen data points, and weight it accordingly.

The pricing models diverge sharply with scale. Blockify is flat monthly regardless of volume. Beacon is fully order-linked. Chargeflow charges 25% of recovered funds, so it costs nothing when nothing goes wrong. At 500 orders/month those three look similar. At 20,000 they do not.

App detail

Beacon Fraud Protection

Best for: stores taking real orders that are contaminated with fraud, resale abuse, or promo abuse — where blanket blocking would cost you legitimate revenue.

What it does. Configurable risk indicators including VOIP numbers, invalid addresses and phone numbers, and CVV results. Tracked fraud types include credit card fraud, account takeover, promotion abuse, and checkout bots. Automates cancellation, voiding, order holds, and payment capture control. Includes a high-risk customer verification step aimed at reducing false positives.

Notable. Built for Shopify badge. Listed integrations include Shopify Flow, Fraud Filter, and Riskified. Interface languages are English and Japanese.

Caveats. Thirteen reviews: ten 5-star, one each at 4, 3, and 1. An August 18, 2026 review from a Canadian merchant asks for language support beyond English and Japanese. And Beacon does not reimburse — it prevents. There is no coverage guarantee.

Pricing (Sept 1, 2026). Risk Management – Basic: $0.03 per order, no minimum, no charge in months with no orders. Risk Management – Plus: $125/month plus $0.025 per order, including 5,000 orders/month; volumes above 15,000/month are quoted directly. 14-day free trial. USD.

Blockify Fraud Filter, Blocker

Best for: stores with a defined sales geography that want to remove out-of-scope traffic structurally, before it reaches checkout.

What it does. Blocks or redirects by IP, country, bot signature, and proxy/VPN. Visitor analytics, content protection (copy prevention and right-click disable), and checkout blocking based on email, phone, or name. Geolocation redirect can route visitors from a region to a different URL.

Notable. 1,579 reviews at 4.9, with 1,488 at five stars. Built for Shopify badge. The free tier includes four IP/country block rules, four redirect rules, analytics on the first 200 visitors, and fraud order analytics — enough to test the premise before paying.

Caveats. Twenty-eight 1-star reviews. Note the plan structure: PREMIUM and ENTERPRISE are for "all stores except Shopify Plus stores," and there is a separate SHOPIFY PLUS plan. Migrating to Plus moves you to the top price tier automatically.

Pricing (Sept 1, 2026). FREE: free to install. PREMIUM: $9.99/mo, or $95.90/year (20% off). ENTERPRISE: $19.99/mo, or $215.89/year (10% off). SHOPIFY PLUS: $39.99/mo, or $431.89/year (10% off). Paid plans include a 3-day trial. USD.

Chargeflow

Best for: stores already carrying enough monthly chargebacks that evidence assembly is a real labor cost.

What it does. AI-generated evidence submitted automatically, friendly-fraud prevention across a network the listing describes as 20,000+ companies, and real-time dispute deflection through Verifi and Ethoca alerts. Prevention, recovery, and analytics in one dashboard.

Notable. Listed integrations span Braintree Payments, Klarna, Affirm, AfterPay, PayPal, Stripe, Recharge, Bold Subscriptions, Gorgias, and Zendesk — so it is not limited to Shopify Payments stores.

Caveats. Fifteen 1-star reviews. A June 26, 2026 review from a Canadian merchant disputes the per-dispute charging and alert timing; the vendor responded publicly. Model the fee structure against your own dispute data before installing. And remember the rate point above: recovery improves cash, not standing.

Pricing (Sept 1, 2026). Free to install. Automation: 25% of recovered funds. Prevent: first 1,000 free, then $0.20/order. Alerts: charged per prevented dispute. Billed only on successful recovery, per the listing. USD.

Choosing by situation

You don't know your baseline yet. Install Fraud Control and read your chargeback rate and high-risk order percentage before buying anything. It's free. Without a baseline you can't tell whether an app worked.

Your sales geography is narrow. Start with Blockify's free tier and four block rules. Confirm the traffic you're removing is actually costing you before upgrading.

Fraud is mixed into legitimate order flow. Beacon's order-level scoring is the right shape, but run the 14-day trial against your real orders and measure false positives explicitly — a blocked legitimate order costs more than the fraud you prevented.

Disputes are eating your week. Compare Chargeflow's fees against your actual numbers: monthly disputes × $15 in fees, plus disputed amounts, versus 25% of recovery plus Prevent and Alerts charges. Below a handful of disputes a month, handling them yourself is usually cheaper.

You want Shopify Protect coverage and you're not US-based. There is no configuration that gets you there. Plan upgrades and enabling Shop Pay do not change the location requirement.

Pre-install checklist

  • Confirm your store location and Shopify Payments account country against the Protect requirement
  • Check whether your plan and payments setup give you fraud recommendations or only indicators
  • Audit your catalog for digital items and BOPIS lines that silently disqualify mixed orders
  • Check whether every carrier you use appears on the 13-carrier supported list
  • Review your support policy on post-checkout address edits — that habit is voiding coverage
  • Measure your current chargeback rate against the 0.4% / 0.6% thresholds
  • Classify each candidate app as blocking, detection, or dispute recovery before comparing them
  • Model annual cost at your projected order volume, since flat, per-order, and performance pricing diverge fast
  • During any free trial, measure false positives on legitimate orders, not just blocks
  • If running two fraud apps, verify their automations can't both cancel the same order

The takeaway

Shopify Protect is real coverage, and for a US store shipping physical goods on Shop Pay with a supported carrier inside seven days, it is excellent and free. The risk is not that it's bad — it's that six independent conditions can each remove an order from coverage, and several of them are triggered by ordinary operational habits rather than deliberate decisions.

Four steps, in order:

  1. Determine honestly what fraction of your orders actually qualify, given your catalog, carriers, and fulfillment speed
  2. Confirm whether your plan and payments setup produce fraud recommendations or only indicators
  3. Install Fraud Control and get a measured baseline before spending anything
  4. Identify which layer — blocking, detection, or recovery — is thinnest, and buy only for that layer

Pricing and features change. Verify against each app's Shopify App Store listing and the current Shopify Help Center pages before you commit.

RelatedShopify Validates Addresses for Free — and Tells You Not to Run an App Alongside It

Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.