Skip to main content
App comparisons

Shopify Has No Buyer-Initiated Quote Object — and B2B on Shopify Stopped Being Plus-Only

Most roundups of Shopify request a quote apps repeat two claims that are wrong as of September 2026: that B2B on Shopify requires Shopify Plus, and that draft orders already handle quoting. Shopify's own Help Center states B2B runs on Basic, Grow, Advanced, and Plus — only direct company catalogs, deposit requirements, partial payments, and payment requests per fulfillment are Plus-only. Draft orders are merchant-initiated and have no quote expiry field; the only time-bound behaviors are inventory reservation and automatic deletion after one year of inactivity. Shopify Forms is free but capped at 25 forms per store, with no multi-step forms and no conditional logic. We priced six Built for Shopify RFQ apps in the US App Store on September 2, 2026: entry tiers run $7.99 to $19/month, free plans range from 10 quote requests per month to none at all, and the only plan we could verify with quote expiration is S:Request a Quote & Hide Price ADVANCED at $36.99/month.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Updated Read 18 min#App comparisons#Shopify blog operations

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

If you sell wholesale, custom-manufactured, or made-to-order products, the workflow you need is easy to describe and surprisingly hard to find in Shopify: a visitor sees a product with no price, asks what it costs, you send a number back, and if they accept it becomes an order.

Shopify has pieces that look like that. Draft orders build orders with negotiated prices. B2B on Shopify has an approval flow. Shopify Forms is free and collects submissions. None of them is a quote request, and the gap is worth naming precisely before you shop for an app.

Research date: September 2, 2026. All prices are USD from the English (?locale=en) App Store listings.

The short version

Shopify has no buyer-initiated quote object. Draft orders are created by the merchant from the Shopify admin, Shopify POS Pro, or the GraphQL Admin API. The Storefront API cannot create one, so a logged-out visitor cannot start one. Draft orders also have no quote expiry — the only time-bound behaviors are reserveInventoryUntil, which holds stock, and a housekeeping rule deleting draft orders created on or after April 1, 2025 after one year of inactivity.

B2B on Shopify is not Plus-only, and articles saying otherwise are out of date. The Help Center is explicit: "You can use Shopify B2B on the Basic, Grow, Advanced, and Shopify Plus plans."

B2B's Submit all orders as drafts for review is not RFQ either. It shows a signed-in company contact a Submit for approval button at checkout — on prices they can already see. That is order approval, not price discovery.

Across six Built for Shopify RFQ apps, "free plan" means six different things, from 10 quote requests per month to one that only exists on development stores.

What Shopify actually gives you

Draft orders: everything except the buyer starting one

Draft orders are genuinely capable. Shopify's documentation describes creating them "on behalf of customers" — that phrasing is the whole story. From the admin you can set a custom price per line item, add custom items outside your catalog, apply discounts, set a custom shipping rate, toggle tax, reserve inventory until a date, and send an invoice with a secure checkout link. Payment terms include Due on receipt, Due on fulfillment, Net 7 through 90, and fixed term. There is even a Lock product pricing control, so a quoted price survives catalog changes — note that price lock blocks decreases as well as increases, and product bundles are not supported.

So if you already agreed on wholesale pricing with an account and want to send a quote-and-invoice, you do not need an app.

What draft orders cannot do is originate from the buyer. draftOrderCreate is a GraphQL Admin API mutation with no Storefront API equivalent. That single architectural fact is why the RFQ app category exists.

B2B on Shopify by plan

This is where most competing articles are simply wrong. What actually gates on plan, limited to the parts that matter for quoting:

CapabilityBasicGrowAdvancedPlus
B2B on Shopify (companies, catalogs, net terms)YesYesYesYes
Draft order to invoiceYesYesYesYes
Checkout to draft (Submit for approval)YesYesYesYes
Quantity rules and quantity price breaksYesYesYesYes
Net terms, payment reminders, ACH (US), vaulted cardsYesYesYesYes
Shopify Flow with B2B objectsYesYesYesYes
B2B catalogs assignable to B2B markets333Unlimited
Contextual checkout and contextual storefrontNoNoYesYes
Theme editor customizations for B2B contextNoNoYesYes
Direct company catalogsNoNoNoYes
Deposit requirementsNoNoNoYes
Partial paymentsNoNoNoYes
Payment requests per fulfillmentNoNoNoYes

On Basic, Grow, and Advanced, B2B catalog features require the store to be using new Shopify Markets.

The practical read: a Basic-plan merchant can run companies, company locations, catalogs, quantity price breaks, and Net 30 today. What they cannot do is take deposits or split payments, and they cannot customize the theme for B2B context below Advanced — exactly the surface where a "call for price" state would live if you built it natively.

Submit for approval is order approval, not quoting

Turn on Submit all orders as drafts for review for a company location and its buyers see Submit for approval at checkout instead of a payment step. The order lands in Drafts with prices locked by default.

Two things disqualify this as RFQ. The buyer must be signed in as a company contact, so no prospect can use it. And they already saw catalog prices before submitting. RFQ starts from the opposite state: the price is not shown, and the buyer is asking what it is.

Shopify Forms is a contact form with a B2B specialty

Shopify Forms is a free Shopify app, installed separately. It handles popups and inline forms, custom fields, customer tagging, email notification per submission, Shopify Flow connections, and translations.

Its documented limits are low for this use case: up to 25 forms per store, "Multi-step forms aren't supported," and "Conditional logic isn't supported on forms." A serious RFQ form usually needs both — different fields per product category, and a second step for specifications. Forms also has no concept of line items, quantities, a quoted amount, or a status.

One native B2B function is often confused with quoting: the company account request form. A submission auto-creates a company, a company location, and a customer under Ordering not approved until you approve them, and a Flow template can auto-approve. That is wholesale account onboarding, not a quote.

Verdict: if prospects need to start a priced conversation from your storefront, an app is required. Otherwise, install nothing.

How to compare the apps

Six Built for Shopify apps cover this category seriously. All figures were read from the English App Store listings on September 2, 2026.

AppRating (reviews)Free plan on a live storeEntry paidTop planTrialQuote expiry
QS Request a Quote, Hide Price4.8 (686)Yes — 10 quote requests/month$16.99/month$96.99/month3-dayNot stated
SA Request a Quote, Hide Price4.9 (619)Yes — but no hide price$16.99/month$36.99/month ($69 on Plus)7-dayNot stated
SB Request a Quote, Hide Price4.7 (191)Yes — 50 quote requests, branded$7.99/month$19.99/month7-dayNot stated
Q:Request a Quote & Hide Price4.9 (103)No$17/month$34/month or $700 one-time7-dayNot stated
S:Request a Quote & Hide Price5.0 (127)Yes — no draft order conversion$12.99/month$36.99/month7-dayYes, on ADVANCED
BSS B2B Order, Request a Quote4.9 (177)No — development stores only$19/month$79/month14-dayNot stated

"Not stated" means the listing does not mention quote expiration; it is not proof the feature is absent. None of the six lists Shopify Flow under "Works with" either — but Flow does provide a Draft order created trigger, so an app that writes draft orders gets you there indirectly.

The six apps

QS Request a Quote, Hide Price

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for QS Request a Quote, Hide Price by Quote Snap

Source: Shopify App Store (QS Request a Quote, Hide Price), retrieved September 2, 2026

Quote Snap's listing carries the Built for Shopify badge and a 2024 Build Award marker, with the largest review base in this set at 686. Note that the slug is request-for-quote-by-omega while the developer shown is Quote Snap — do not describe it as an Omega app.

Plans: FREE with 10 quote requests per month, STARTER at $16.99/month for 50 requests plus convert-quote-to-order, PRO at $36.99/month for unlimited quotes plus margin and profit-leak alerts and CRM sync, and a SHOPIFY PLUS plan at $96.99/month.

The differentiator sits in that top plan. Live negotiation with discount caps — a rep answers a counter-offer within a configured limit, anything beyond escalates for merchant approval — is a SHOPIFY PLUS plan feature, as are quote deposits and separate B2B storefront settings. If delegated discount authority is why you're shopping, budget $96.99/month, not the entry tier. Per-quote margin visibility is a second differentiator no other app here advertises.

Constraints: the trial is 3 days, the shortest here, and the admin is English only. The theme that repeats across more than one 1–2 star review is weak multilingual quoting and international tax and shipping calculation. Two further reports appear once each: a US merchant of 10 months "could never get simple SMTP email notifications to work," and a Canadian merchant reports performance degradation traced with Chrome DevTools to the app's scripts.

SA Request a Quote, Hide Price

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for SA Request a Quote, Hide Price by Samita

Source: Shopify App Store (SA Request a Quote, Hide Price), retrieved September 2, 2026

Samita's app rates 4.9 from 619 reviews. Multiple reviews mention it was transferred from Globo to Samita; that history is not confirmed in any Shopify primary source, and Globo Product Options still appears under "Works with."

Its design idea is that the buyer proposes a price, submitting a suggested price and per-line remarks rather than free text. It supports 15 languages and one of the broadest US marketing stacks here — Klaviyo, HubSpot, Mailchimp, ActiveCampaign, Omnisend, Campaign Monitor, GetResponse, and Zapier.

Two pricing traps. The BASIC (free) plan does not include hide price — that arrives at PREMIUM, $16.99/month. And PRO is $36.99/month on standard plans but $69/month on Shopify Plus, so being on Plus makes this app more expensive, not less. PRO caps storage at 2GB, which matters if quotes carry drawings and spec sheets.

The 1–2 star reviews that repeat across more than one merchant concern hide price. A 2022 review states prices still render on load because the app is "only editing out the price with CSS," and that recently-viewed products still show prices. A US front-end developer in 2023 reported hide price failing on some Online Store 2.0 themes. These cluster in 2022–2023 and the listing has since earned Built for Shopify — treat them as a testing requirement, not a current defect.

SB Request a Quote, Hide Price

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for SB Request a Quote, Hide Price by SetuBridge

Source: Shopify App Store (SB Request a Quote, Hide Price), retrieved September 2, 2026

SetuBridge has the lowest paid entry price in this set: STARTUP at $7.99/month, GROWTH at $12.99/month, PREMIUM with unlimited quote requests at $19.99/month. Unlimited quote volume itself is not rare — SA PREMIUM at $16.99/month, Quotify Premium at $17/month, and Storeify STARTUP at $12.99/month all list unlimited quotes — but SetuBridge is the only one that also removes the cap on quote-able products at that price.

It is also the only app here that meters two dimensions at once — quote requests and quote-able products. Lite (free) allows 50 quote requests and 50 products with a "Powered by" logo; STARTUP allows 50 requests per month and 100 products; GROWTH allows 500 and 500. A narrow catalog of high-value SKUs works in your favor.

Feature placement matters: Convert Quote to Order lands at GROWTH ($12.99/month), not STARTUP. GROWTH also brings quote stages and labels, private notes and comment history, AI lead-quality scoring, and a BI dashboard — the closest thing to a CRM pipeline here. Quote intake by WhatsApp or phone, plus Slack and Microsoft Teams notifications, fits US building-products and custom-fabrication merchants whose leads arrive by voice.

The admin is English only. Its 1–2 star share is the highest here at 9 of 191, and two merchants describe support going quiet after a responsive start, with email notification and branding problems unresolved. A UK merchant reports hidden prices leaking into the recommendation block.

Q:Request a Quote & Hide Price

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Q a Quote & Hide Price by AppHive

Source: Shopify App Store (Q:Request a Quote & Hide Price), retrieved September 2, 2026

AppHive's app launched March 9, 2021, has only two 1–2 star reviews out of 103, and shows several US merchants reporting one to two years of continuous use. It is not the oldest listing in this set — SA launched in 2017 and QS in 2019 — but the review base it does have skews long-tenure.

There is no free plan. Premium is $17/month, Pro is $34/month, and uniquely in this category there is a Pro Lifetime at $700 one-time — break-even against Pro is roughly 21 months.

The reason to look at it is automation after approval. Auto draft order and auto-approve turn an accepted quote into a draft order without a person touching it. It supports B2B Catalogs and Market selection, and Pro adds conditional email routing rules that assign quotes to reps by category or region, plus a REST API and Webhooks for pushing quotes into NetSuite, QuickBooks, or an internal system.

What's gated: Quote PDF, email templates, customer-data pre-fill, and the API all require Pro at $34/month.

S:Request a Quote & Hide Price

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for S a Quote & Hide Price by Storeify

Source: Shopify App Store (S:Request a Quote & Hide Price), retrieved September 2, 2026

Storeify's app is the only one in this comparison whose listing states quote expiration time and reminder email. If honoring stale pricing is a real commercial risk — commodities, metals, lumber, chemicals, anything where input cost moves weekly — this narrows your shortlist to one plan.

That plan is ADVANCED at $36.99/month, and the ladder below it is steep. FREE gives a quote form, submission management, email customization, and SMTP with a provider copyright line — no hide price, no draft order conversion. STARTUP at $12.99/month adds hide price, login-to-see-price, Convert Quote to DraftOrder, and multi-market and multi-currency. PRO at $24.99/month adds auto-approve, auto-create draft order, and Quote to PDF. ADVANCED adds discounts, shipping rates, per-language and per-country form targeting, and expiry. No annual billing is listed.

Its rating is 5.0 from 127 reviews with zero 1–2 star reviews. Read that correctly: an absence of negative reviews on a mid-sized base is not an absence of weaknesses — it means there is no merchant-reported evidence either way. The admin is English only.

BSS B2B Order, Request a Quote

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for BSS B2B Order, Request a Quote by BSS B2B Suite

Source: Shopify App Store (BSS B2B Order, Request a Quote), retrieved September 2, 2026

This one is scoped differently. Alongside RFQ and Call for Price it bundles a Quick Order form, CSV bulk ordering, and one-click reorder — a B2B purchasing portal rather than a quoting tool. It supports 20 languages and the longest trial here at 14 days.

Plans: GROWTH at $19/month for 100 quotes per month with 5 logics and 5 Quick Order pages, BUSINESS at $39/month for unlimited quotes plus reorder and Email Approval and Auto Convert — the buyer approves from the email and it becomes an order — and ENTERPRISE at $79/month, where quote logic per company customer, company and location autofill, and Shopify Plus catalog price syncing live. There is no free plan for a live store; the "Free to install" tier is a development-store arrangement.

Its integrations point inward: the listed partners are BSS's own B2B Lock and B2B Solution apps plus themes and page builders, with no Klaviyo or Mailchimp. Hide-price targeting by tag, vendor, or collection is thinner than the dedicated hide-price apps. Its three 1–2 star reviews raise support non-response, premium gating requiring additional BSS apps, and a limited trial — one mention each, no pattern.

Before you deploy hide price, test these five surfaces

Hide price is where this category breaks in production. If prices are suppressed with CSS rather than removed server-side, they leak — merchant reviews for two apps in this set describe exactly that. On your own theme, with the app installed, check:

  1. Product page during initial load, before scripts execute
  2. Collection and search results pages
  3. Related-product and recommendation blocks
  4. Recently viewed products
  5. Structured data in the page source, which is what search engines read

If price appears in any of the five, the app is hiding it from casual visitors only.

Which one fits

You need no app for sending a quote-and-invoice to an account whose pricing you already agreed (draft orders, Lock product pricing, Send invoice, Net terms), for reviewing signed-in company buyers' orders before fulfillment (Submit all orders as drafts for review), or for a wholesale account application form (Shopify Forms plus a Flow auto-approval template).

You need an app the moment a prospect who is not signed in has to initiate a priced conversation, or you want prices hidden with a Request a Quote button in their place. From there:

  • Tightest budget, narrow catalog, phone and WhatsApp leads — SB Request a Quote, Hide Price, $7.99 to $19.99/month. Conversion to order starts at $12.99/month.
  • Buyers name their price, quote data reaches Klaviyo — SA Request a Quote, Hide Price. Verify hide price on your theme first, and check the Plus pricing if you are on Plus.
  • Multiple reps, delegated discount authority, per-deal margin control — QS Request a Quote, Hide Price, accepting the $96.99/month SHOPIFY PLUS plan for discount caps and a 3-day trial.
  • Automate everything after approval, push data out by webhook — Q:Request a Quote & Hide Price, $17 or $34/month, or $700 once.
  • Quote expiry is a business requirement — S:Request a Quote & Hide Price, ADVANCED at $36.99/month. The only verified option.
  • You want the whole B2B portal, not just quoting — BSS B2B Order, Request a Quote, $19 to $79/month, company-level quote logic at ENTERPRISE.

Two more worth knowing. SP Request a Quote (RFQ) is free, Built for Shopify, 5.0 from 24 reviews, with a buyer portal and in-quote chat — but it launched November 14, 2025, so the operating history is thin. And YouQuote: Request a Quote Form is the only listing we checked that names Shopify Flow under "Works with."

App Store pricing, ratings, and Shopify's B2B plan table all change without notice. Everything above reflects September 2, 2026 — re-check both before committing budget.

Sources

RelatedShop Pay Installments Rejects Capital One and Chase Cards — and Two Shopify Pages Disagree About Where Disputes Appear

Shop Pay Installments is free to activate, needs no app, and Shopify never publishes what it costs you — the rate is visible only inside your own admin. It also refuses Capital One and Chase credit cards, restricts monthly plans to debit cards only, excludes gift cards and subscriptions, and can't be turned off for individual products. Affirm can suspend your account for being password-protected, for having a non-English storefront, or for being primarily B2B. And Shopify's Getting paid page says disputes appear in your admin while its FAQ says they don't. If you fail the eligibility gates, the alternative is on-site messaging apps from Klarna, Afterpay, Sezzle, Zip, and PayPal — a category rated between 1.0 and 3.2 stars. Researched September 2, 2026.