What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
When Shopify's shipping settings stop cooperating, most people start by looking up the limits. That answer is clear: 99 custom shipping profiles, stated in the help center as "You can create up to 99 custom shipping profiles." The commonly repeated "100" is wrong.
But the count isn't what breaks first. What breaks first is what happens when products from different profiles end up in the same cart.
Shopify's documentation is explicit. Identically named rates are added together. Differently named rates are reduced to the cheapest option from each profile, summed, and displayed as a single option named Shipping. Which means: the more you split profiles to differentiate shipping, the more the customer gets charged on a mixed cart.
And reading through shipping app one-star reviews back through 2026, the complaints converge on something other than missing features. They converge on the Carrier Calculated Shipping (CCS) plan requirement. The one-star reviews for Octolize, SMART, and Advanced Shipping Rules all cluster there.
This article covers what native manual shipping rates handle, where they stop, and how eight real shipping apps compare — with CCS dependency as an explicit axis. Researched September 1, 2026; all pricing is the USD figure shown on the Shopify App Store.
The short answer
If destination, order value, and weight fully determine your shipping, native settings are enough. No app needed.
Once you need anything beyond those, the first thing to check isn't features — it's your Shopify plan.
- Basic or Grow (monthly), and all you want is to hide, reorder, or rename delivery methods: OCT Hide Shipping Methods ($3.99/month) or SMART Shipping Rates & Rules Lite ($9.99/month). Neither requires CCS
- Advanced or above, SKU- and tag-level conditions: Advanced Shipping Rules (from $9/month)
- Advanced or above, postal-code-level zone granularity: Shipping Rates Rules & Zones ($9.99/month) or ShipX Starter ($9.99/month)
- Multi-location, dimensional, dozens of conditions: Intuitive Shipping (from $70/month, includes free onboarding)
- Cross-border with landed cost or rate shopping: Calcurates (billed per rate calculation)
On Basic or Grow monthly, most apps that calculate rates will not work. Installing one without checking produces exactly the outcome documented in those one-star reviews.
Native manual rates offer exactly three condition axes
Shopify defines four rate types.
Flat applies across the order — with an important note attached. The documentation says "By default, flat rates apply one time per order," and adds that charging per item requires setting up separate shipping rates or using a third-party app. "+$3 for each additional item" is outside what native settings anticipate.
Order amount uses rows of minimum, maximum, and price. Weight works the same way.
Carrier or app calculated covers real-time rates, with a handling fee you can add as a percentage plus a fixed amount. Shopify even documents the order of operations: $5 with 50% plus $1 yields $8.50, not $9.00. The percentage is applied first, then the fixed amount.
So the condition axes available in native manual rates are destination, order value, and weight. Product tags, SKUs, quantity, day of week, and time of day don't exist as conditions in the native UI.
Two traps in weight-based rates
The first is what weight is actually measured. Shopify judges on "the combined weight of items shipping from the same location using the same shipping option," and — critically — the store's default package weight is added to each item's weight. The documentation's own example: a 3lb product plus a 1lb default package is evaluated at 4lb. This is the usual explanation when carefully tuned weight brackets return the wrong rate.
The second is gaps in your tiers. Shopify flags this as a Caution: "If an order falls outside your tiers ... no rate applies and the customer receives a shipping error at checkout." With no matching rate, the order cannot be completed. The documented fix is to leave the Maximum field of your top tier blank.
Worth noting: no numeric limit on zones per profile, or on rates per zone, could be found in either the Shopify help center or shopify.dev. Figures circulating elsewhere don't have a verifiable source behind them.
The core issue: splitting profiles sums the rates
To vary shipping by product, the only native mechanism is splitting into custom shipping profiles. And a product or variant can belong to only one profile at a time — adding it to a second removes it from the first automatically.
When products from different profiles share a cart, Shopify combines the rates. Precisely, in two patterns.
When rate names match, matching rates are added. A Shirts profile's "Standard $3" plus a Pants profile's "Standard $2" becomes "Standard $5." "Expedited $9" plus "Expedited $6" becomes "Expedited $15." The customer still sees both options.
When rate names differ, only the cheapest rate from each profile is summed, and it's presented as a single option named Shipping. Combine "Standard $3 / Expedited $9" with "Basic $2 / Very fast $6" and the customer sees only "Shipping $5." The faster option disappears entirely.
There's one operational conclusion here. If you split profiles, keep the rate names identical. Mismatched names alone will collapse your customers' choices to one.
For completeness: rates combine only when a single rate from one profile and location can't cover the order. And within the same location group, a flat rate is charged only once even when shipping from multiple locations — though weight-based, carrier-calculated, and app rates do combine.
Hiding a delivery method is impossible natively
Hiding, reordering, or renaming a delivery method at checkout cannot be done with native settings at all. shopify.dev states it directly: "To customize delivery options in checkout, you can only use the Delivery Customization Function API."
But there's a widely held misconception here. This is not Plus-only.
Shopify's plan availability table marks "Public apps built with Shopify Functions" as available from Basic upward. The Plus-only row is "Custom apps built with Shopify Functions." shopify.dev agrees: "stores on any plan can use public apps that are distributed through the Shopify App Store and contain functions."
Meaning: install a public Functions-based app from the App Store and you can hide, reorder, and rename delivery methods on a Basic plan. Plus is required only when you build it as a custom app, or when you build it with Shopify's own Checkout Blocks.
The feature carries documented limits. A maximum of 25 delivery customizations can be active at one time per store, across all apps. And "Hiding shipping methods is the only customization type that supports conditional rules" — renaming and reordering can't be made conditional.
One qualification: both statements appear on the Checkout Blocks help page, which opens with "Creating a delivery method customization using Checkout Blocks is available only to merchants on the Shopify Plus plan." Whether the same 25-customization cap applies to customizations created through a public Functions-based App Store app can't be settled from that page alone.
The one-star reviews all point at the CCS plan requirement
Read the one-star reviews and a pattern emerges.
Octolize's Shipping Rates Rules & Zones, May 31, 2026: "Detected I'm on a Shopify basic plan. To start a subscription but then immediately says no CCS detected." The developer replied acknowledging "a bug where the app prompts for a subscription before fully verifying your CCS status," and said a fix was in progress.
SMART Shipping Rates & Rules, May 31, 2026: "The app doesn't work unless you are on a Growth package with Shopify."
Advanced Shipping Rules, February 12, 2026: charged twice, $20 instead of $9. The developer's reply is unambiguous: "In order to use our app or any other carrier service app, a certain feature needs to be activated on your shop. This is the $20 charge ... This is a charge that came from Shopify, not our app."
Same root cause each time. Third-party Carrier Calculated Shipping is included on Advanced and Plus; Grow requires an additional monthly fee or a switch to annual billing; other plans can't use it at all.
Note the word "third-party." This is the entitlement for connecting your own carrier accounts or third-party apps. Rates from Shopify's own built-in carrier integrations sit outside it, so don't generalize this into "any calculated rate requires Advanced."
Which is why apps have to be sorted into CCS-dependent and CCS-free.
Eight shipping apps compared
| App | Developer | Rating (reviews) | BFS | Cheapest paid | CCS required? | Main condition axes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ShipX ‑ Shipping Rates & Rules | Logbase (India) | 5.0 (1,175) | No | $9.99/mo | Partly (rates yes, customizations no) | Cart / weight / quantity / product / customer / supplier / dimensions / postcode / distance |
| Intuitive Shipping | Intuitive Shipping Inc (Canada) | 5.0 (461) | No | $70/mo | Not stated (unconfirmed) | 40+ (dimensions / distance / customer / product / quantity / weight / ZIP) |
| Advanced Shipping Rules | Bambri (US) | 4.9 (294) | No | $9/mo | Yes, per the developer's review reply (not stated on the listing) | SKU / tags / postcode / dimensions / quantity / customer |
| SMART Shipping Rates & Rules | E-TRADE PARTNER (Poland) | 5.0 (383) | Yes | $9.99/mo | Split by tier (Lite doesn't) | Dimensions / volumetric weight / cart / quantity / postcode / date / SKU / tags / collections / B2B |
| Shipping Rates Rules & Zones | Octolize LTD (UK) | 4.9 (39) | Yes | $9.99/mo | Yes (stated in all caps) | Weight / price / quantity / volume / product / SKU / tags / time of day / postcode zones |
| OCT Hide Shipping Methods | Octolize LTD (UK) | 4.9 (19) | Yes | $3.99/mo | No | Cart total / weight / quantity / address / product / collection / customer tags / B2B |
| Parcelify: Shipping Rates | Clever Few Corp (Canada) | 4.8 (161) | No | $19.99/mo | No ("no CCS required" stated) | Tags / vendor / collection / location / quantity / weight / postcode |
| Calcurates: Accurate Shipping | Calcurates (Slovakia) | 5.0 (69) | No | $0 (usage) / $69/mo | Yes (stated) | Postcode / tags / metafields / distance / dimensions / weight / price / quantity / carrier |
Four readings from that table.
First, apps split cleanly into CCS-required and Functions-based. Octolize's Shipping Rates Rules & Zones warns in all caps within its listing: "THIS APP REQUIRES CARRIER-CALCULATED SHIPPING (CCS) FOR PROPER FUNCTIONING." Calcurates states "The app requires carrier-calculated shipping (CCS)." By contrast, OCT Hide Shipping Methods lists "Checkout / Shopify Admin / Delivery Customizations" under Works with, with no CCS mention, and its data access is limited to "Shopify Functions: Delivery customizations" — it's Functions-based.
Second, more apps are now splitting capabilities by tier. SMART Shipping Rates & Rules describes itself as "No CCS required for delivery customizations, Carrier Service for calculated rates," and its Lite plan explicitly says "Works on Basic plan, no CCS needed." ShipX states the same split: "Delivery customization without CCS API, other conditions require Shopify's Carrier Calculated Shipping API." For a Basic-plan store, whether an app is designed this way is decisive.
Third, the Built for Shopify badge doesn't track review volume. Of these eight, the badge holders are SMART Shipping Rates & Rules, Shipping Rates Rules & Zones, and OCT Hide Shipping Methods. ShipX (5.0, 1,175 reviews) and Intuitive Shipping (5.0, 461) don't carry it.
Fourth, none of the shipping rule apps surveyed offer a Japanese admin UI. Apps that integrate with Japanese carriers do exist, but their core function is generating shipping label CSVs and handling delivery date selection — they aren't rate engines. If a Japanese UI is a firm requirement, the choice narrows to designing entirely within native shipping profiles (the admin is localized) or accepting an English interface.
One correction worth making: the "Based in [country]" line on an App Store listing sits under "Popular with stores like yours" — it's a personalization signal, not the developer's location, and the country shown varies by who's browsing. SMART Shipping Rates & Rules is built by E-TRADE PARTNER, based in Warsaw, Poland per the listing's Developer section.
Three pricing structures to watch
Order-volume tiers. Intuitive Shipping bundles 500 orders into Growth ($70/month), 2,000 into Business ($150/month), and 5,000 into Professional ($300/month). A July 24, 2024 review from a merchant of three-plus years describes hitting the new pricing on reinstall and calling it "predatory pricing." The complaint is about the pricing change, not the product.
Per-calculation billing. Calcurates offers Pay As You Go from $0.02 per calculation, then Small ($69/month, 7,000 calculations), Medium ($139/month, 17,000), and Large ($229/month, 35,000). High-traffic stores need to estimate calculation volume from monthly checkouts before picking a tier.
Feature gating within tiers. Advanced Shipping Rules' Lite plan ($9/month) excludes Hide/Show rules entirely. "Start on the cheap tier and just hide a delivery method" isn't something that plan supports.
"Backup rates will catch it" is conditional
Shopify provides backup rates for when carrier- or app-calculated rates can't be retrieved. The condition is strict.
Backup rates appear only when every calculated rate fails and no other applicable rate exists. Which means: if you also run a flat rate, backup rates never appear — and customers can select that flat rate even while CCS is working normally.
This article has an expiry date: Shopify is rebuilding shipping settings
One more thing, because it will eventually invalidate the premise above.
Every major shipping profile help page now carries a note to this effect: shipping profiles and shipping rates are gradually moving to shipping options by market; most stores still use shipping profiles, and yours keeps its current setup until it's upgraded.
Three things change, per Shopify's own comparison table.
The rate combination rule changes. Today, all matching rates are added together. Under the new model, rates within the same shipping option take the highest value only, and only rates across different options are summed. The core problem in this article — splitting profiles inflating the charge — changes character entirely.
Product grouping becomes collection-based. Instead of splitting product-based profiles, each rate gets product conditions that can specify collections. On migration, existing profile product groups are converted into hidden collections prefixed with [Shipping].
Split shipping becomes permanently on. Stores that had it off get it switched on.
And a significant warning: stores using shipping apps have their migration deferred until those apps become compatible. Shopify states that an incompatible app can cause rates not to appear at checkout, leaving orders uncompletable. Reverting is possible inside the opt-out window, but doing so permanently deletes post-migration changes and the auto-generated collections.
General availability is described only as "early access" rolling out "gradually over an extended period" — no date could be confirmed.
Pre-install checklist
- Do destination, order value, and weight cover your requirements? If so, native is enough
- Does your Shopify plan support CCS (Advanced or above, or Grow with annual billing / add-on fee)?
- Do you need rate calculation, or rate presentation (hide, reorder, rename)? The latter alone doesn't need CCS
- Is the app you're evaluating CCS-required, Functions-based, or split by tier?
- If you've split profiles, are the rate names identical across them?
- Have your weight brackets accounted for the default package weight being added?
- Is the Maximum field of your top tier blank? (Prevents checkout shipping errors)
- Is pricing flat, order-volume-based, or per-calculation? What's the monthly cost after growth?
- Does the cheap tier actually include the feature you need? (Advanced Shipping Rules Lite has no Hide/Show)
- Have you validated in test mode or on a development store before going live?
Where this leaves you
Work the decision in this order.
Start by testing whether the three native conditions — destination, value, weight — can carry your design. With 99 profiles available, there's more room for product grouping than most people assume. Just account for the mixed-cart combination behavior and keep your rate names identical.
Before shopping for an app, check your Shopify plan. Installing a CCS-required app on a plan without CCS produces a subscription charge and a non-functioning app. That's where most of the one-star reviews come from.
Then separate the requirement into rate calculation versus delivery-method control. If it's only the latter, CCS-free apps start at $3.99/month.
Finally, validate in test mode or on a development store before going live. Six of the eight apps compared here offer free validation via a development store or test mode.
All pricing, ratings, and review counts in this article were confirmed on each app's Shopify App Store page on September 1, 2026. Shopify is also actively migrating the shipping settings model itself — check the current help center documentation before acting.
Shopify's admin address validation is on by default, free, on every plan, and supports the US. Checkout-time validation is one toggle away. Shopify's own documentation then warns that running a third-party address validation app at the same time can create conflicting suggestions and reduce checkout conversion — you are meant to pick one. That reframes the whole category: apps are not there to duplicate deliverability checking, they are there to enforce policy Shopify's validator does not enforce, like blocking PO boxes or requiring an apartment number. We priced four real apps from the US App Store on September 2, 2026, spanning $4.99/month flat, $0.04 per order, and one that requires a separate subscription billed outside Shopify.